Written by Jim Ecker Saturday, 26 January 2013 21:51 -

The oldest members of the Cedar Rapids Prairie wrestling team were born in 1994 and 1995, which is an odd coincidence.

Those are the only two years the Hawks had ever won the Mississippi Valley Conference wrestling tournament. Until now, that is.

Prairie ended its 18-year dry spell in the MVC tournament by claiming top honors Saturday at the Cedar Rapids Washington gym.

lowa City West had captured nine straight titles, a streak that began in 2004 - the same year Blake Williams became the head coach at Prairie.

Williams led the Hawks to a string of second-place showings over the years, always looking up at lowa City West, but that changed Saturday.

"I'm just happy for these kids and the senior group," he said. "They work hard."

Prairie finished with 262.5 points for a comfortable 45-point margin over the Linn-Mar Lions. lowa City West placed third.

Seniors Jamie Day (152 pounds), Cam Rathje (170) and Andrew Netolicky (285) captured individual titles for Prairie. Day and Rathje were born in 1994, so they were toddlers the last time the Hawks won an MVC crown. Netolicky was born on April 1, 1995 - about two months after the Hawks won their league crown that year.

"It's nice," Netolicky said about the team championship. "We feel like this is our toughest year in a long time. We feel really good about our team."

Written by Jim Ecker Saturday, 26 January 2013 21:51 -

Netolicky pinned Zac Gillis of Washington in overtime for the 285-pound title. Day trimmed Brandon Haas of Dubuque Hempstead, 6-4, for top honors at 152. Rathje pinned Weslee Haynes of Dubuque Wahlert for the title at 170.

Netolicky and Rathje won their second straight MVC titles. "We all wrestled well, we fought hard and did what we were supposed to do," said Rathje.

Matt Wempen (113), Alijah Jeffery (120) and Joel Northrup (145) won titles for Linn-Mar. It was the second straight crown for Wempen, who is only a sophomore. Northrup, a senior, won his second MVC title. The other came when he was a freshman in 2010 at 103 pounds.

Dax Dills of Washington took top honors at 132 pounds.

Prairie won the championship despite not having Austin Gould, Dylan Becker and Jordan Flege in the lineup.

"It's tougher (without them), but we have guys that can step in and make a difference," said Netolicky. "They put points on the board for us. They're doing their job."

Flege was not feeling well and stayed home from school Friday. Becker and Gould are currently sidelined with injuries and are hopeful of wrestling again at the district meet in two weeks.

"We hope we get those guys back, but we've got a good team with whoever we put out there," said Williams. "Our kids believe in that, and that's important."

The Prairie Hawks were happy and proud of their accomplishment, but they almost immediately began looking ahead.



"Hopefully we can win districts. That would be awesome," said Netolicky. "State? Hopefully we're in contention. We want to win.

"That's been our goal all year. We say it every day after practice. We feel good about it."

The Hawks have a league banner to display at school. Now they hope it's a stepping-stone for bigger prizes in the weeks ahead.

"Never satisfied," said Rathje. "Just get ready for practice and keep getting better."

Rathje and Netolicky climbed to the top rung of the awards stand last year, so they knew the way Saturday. It was a new experience for Day.

"If you had watched him as a freshman, compared to where he is now, the progress he's made is amazing," said Williams. "It's a credit to him."

Day was glad he helped the Hawks win the title. "We've been working hard in the room, so I feel like we deserve it," he said.

And just like his teammates, Day preferred to look ahead and performing well at the district and state meets. "It just depends on how we prepare for the tournaments we have coming up," he said. "We'll see where it goes."

Williams echoed the same theme. He's proud of the MVC title, but hopeful of bagging even bigger prizes in February.

Written by Jim Ecker Saturday, 26 January 2013 21:51 -

"Hopefully this gives our team and the individuals on our team the confidence going into the next couple of weeks," he said. "It feels good, but there's bigger things, hopefully, for the team and the kids."

# MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE TOURNAMENT

# Team Standings

1. Prairie 262.5, 2. Linn-Mar 217.5, 3. Iowa City West 209.5, 4. Jefferson 166, 5. Cedar Falls 160, 6. Wahlert 118.5, 7. Waterloo West 110, 8. Washington 106, 9. Xavier 102, 10. Kennedy 99, 11. Dubuque Senior 88.5, 12. Hempstead 78.5, 13. Iowa City High 59, 14. Waterloo East 30.

# Championship Round

- 106 Chase Lynn (DS) major dec. Nolan Hromidko (CRK), 13-4
- 113 Matt Wempen (LM) tech fall Kyle Briggs (CRJ), 17-0
- 120 Alijah Jeffery (LM) dec. Daniel Kelly (CF), 8-2
- 126 Chris Walters (ICW) dec. Josh Wenger (CRP), 4-1
- 132 Dax Dills (CRW) major dec. Matt Hesselman (DS), 10-2
- 138 Kegan Wakefield (ICW) dec. Trey Blaha (CRP), 2-1
- 145 Joel Northrup (LM) dec. Skyler St.John (CRP), 5-2
- 152 Jamie Day (CRP) dec. Brandon Haas (DH), 6-4
- 160 Clark Doyle (CF) pinned Dakota Digmann (LM), 3:06
- 170 Cam Rathje (CRP) pinned Weslee Haynes (DW), 3:04
- 182 Nick Hagedorn (CF) dec. Andrew Holladay (LM), 14-12
- 195 Marcus Harrington (WW) dec. Mickey Pelfrey (ICW), 5-1
- 220 Micah Kelsay (ICW) dec. Gannon Gremmel (DH), 9-5
- 285 Andrew Netolicky (CRP) pinned Zac Gillis (CRW), 8:10 (ot)

## PRAIRIE PLACEWINNERS

- 1st Jamie Day (152)
- 1st Cam Rathje (170)
- 1st Andrew Netolicky (285)
- 2nd Josh Wenge (126)
- 2nd Trey Blaha (138)
- 2nd Skyler St.John (145)
- 3rd Sam Uthoff (106)
- 3rd River Whitters (160)
- 3rd Casey Becker (195)
- 5th Zack Fiser (113)

Written by Jim Ecker Saturday, 26 January 2013 21:51 -

5th - Jarod Cadena (182)

5th - Jesse Hynek (220)

## LINN-MAR PLACEWINNERS

1st - Matt Wempen (113)

1st - Alijah Jeffery (120)

1st - Joel Northrup (145)

2nd - Dakota Digmann (160)

2nd - Andrew Holladay (182)

3rd - Damon Griffin (126)

3rd - Shea Hartzler (138)

4th - Noah Ajram (106)

4th - Emmanuel Jeffery (132)

4th - Justin Green (220)

## JEFFERSON PLACEWINNERS

2nd - Kyle Briggs (113)

4th - Patrick Rashed (120)

4th - Cody Hensel (126)

4th - Kelly May (152)

4th - Luke Sedlacek (160)

4th - Drake Allen (182)

5th - Brenden Baker (106)

5th - Michael Moncivais (132)

5th - Josh Allen (170)

5th - Randy Deaton (285)

6th - Dalton Kuehl (195)

## WASHINGTON PLACEWINNERS

1st - Dax Dills (132)

2nd - Zac Gillis (285)

3rd - JP Mercado (145)

5th - Trey Schuler (120)

6th - Tyler Burkle (160)

## **XAVIER PLACEWINNERS**

3rd - Clint Lembeck (120)

3rd - Sean Ickes (170)

6th - Jerry Duball (132)

6th - Nick Drahozal (138)

6th - Cole Turner (285)

Written by Jim Ecker Saturday, 26 January 2013 21:51 -

# **KENNEDY PLACEWINNERS**

2nd - Nolan Hromidko (106)

3rd - James Ruzicka (132)

5th - Nathan Waterhouse (126)

6th - Taylor Moss (120)