Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 July 2014 22:22 -

Linn-Mar senior Katie Sommer has been named the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star softball teams.

Nikki Price and her assistants were named the Staff of the Year in the Valley Division after winning the division title.

Xavier, Linn-Mar and Prairie claimed three spots apiece on the Valley Division first team.

Pitcher Erin Drahozal, infielder Hayley Deutmeyer and outfielder Courtney Colston made the squad from Xavier. Pitcher Maddy Ryan, infielder Katie Sommer and outfielder Elison Ollinger made the team from Linn-Mar. Catcher Natalie Rumer, infielder Gabi Carter and outfielder Halle Lueck were named from Prairie.

Bria Lenten of Washington was a first-team pick in the Valley Division as a utility player.

The Jefferson J-Hawks landed three berths on the Mississippi Division first team with pitcher Alyssa Olson, catcher Maddie Hansen and infielder Erin Kuba. Kennedy claimed two spots with infielder Ashley Hamilton and outfielder Tianna Drahn.

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Katie Sommer, Linn-Mar Staff of the Year - Xavier

FIRST TEAM

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 July 2014 22:22 -

Pitchers - Erin Drahozal (Xavier), Maddy Ryan (Linn-Mar) Catcher - Natalie Rumer (Prairie) Infielders - Katie Sommer (Linn -Mar), Gabi Carter (Prairie), Hayley Deutmeyer (Xavier), Maddy Nilles (Wahlert) Outfielders - Courtney Colston (Xavier), Halle Lueck (Prairie), Elison Ollinger (Linn-Mar). Utility - Jaclyn Spencer (Waterloo West), Brian Lenten (Washington).

SECOND TEAM

Pitchers - Natalie Halvorson (Prairie), Payton Bruner (Washington) Catcher - Steph Wehr (Xavier) Infielders - Kelsey Aikey (Cedar Falls), Kristie Sommer (Linn-Mar), JessiPuk (Washington), Mallory Jones (Prairie) Outfielders - Cassy Herkelman (Cedar Falls), Alyssa Aikey (Cedar Falls), Kristin Wahlert (Prairie). Utility - Emily Oler (Washington), Christina Lincoln (Linn-Mar)

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Only

Prairie - Amanda Stecklein, Taylor Moenk Washington - Annie Riley, Erica Oler Xavier - Allison Schwach, Jamie Feltes Linn-Mar - Madison Rentschler, Morgan Braughton

ALL-ACADEMIC Metro Only

Prairie - Amanda Stecklein, Halle Lueck Washington - Bria Lenten, Hannah Schroeder Xavier - Allison Schwach, Courtney Colston Linn-Mar - Katie Sommer, Lauren Swanson

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 July 2014 22:22 -

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Adara Opiola, Iowa City West Staff of the Year - Iowa City West

FIRST TEAM

Pitchers - Alyssa Olson (Jefferson), Jesse Harder (IC West) Catcher - Maddie Hansen (Jefferson) Infielders - Adara Opiola (IC West), Sydney Tigges (Dubuque Senior), Ashley Hamilton (Kennedy), Erin Kuba (Jefferson) Outfielders - Bryn Hanrahan (IC High), Taleah Smith (IC West), Tianna Drahn (Kennedy) Utility - Madi Miller (IC West), A.J. Medinger (Dubuque Senior)

SECOND TEAM

Pitchers - Alissa Good (Jefferson), Laynie Whitehead (IC West) Catcher - Peyton Koenig (IC High) Infielders - Avery Guy (Jefferson), Grace Tafolla (IC West), Hope Koerperich (Hempstead), Jessie Westhoff (Dubuque Senior) Outfielders - Hannah Towns (Jefferson), Madeline Crist (Kennedy), Jess Brown (Hempstead) Utility - Paige Timmerman (Kennedy), Ashley Kubik (Waterloo East)

HONORABLE MENTION Metro Only

Jefferson - Katylyn Holub, Kennedy Dighton Kennedy - Peyton Baskeerville, Jenna Schwartzhoff

ALL-ACADEMIC

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 16 July 2014 22:22 -

Metro Only

Jefferson - Savannah Fowler, Katelyn Holub Kennedy - Nicole Andersen