Ollinger honored on MVC volleyball

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 13:03 -

Amanda Ollinger of Cedar Rapids Jefferson has been named the Valley Division Athlete of the Year on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star volleyball team.

Ollinger, a 6-foot-3 junior, was one of the top kill-shot artists in the state this season with her powerful slams. She has committed to play basketball at the University of Iowa.

Sarah Renner of Linn-Mar, Ellie Anderson of Linn-Mar, Anna Fluent of Kennedy and Macy Anderson of Kennedy joined Ollinger as first-team selections in the Valley Division.

Kate Busswitz of Prairie and Kayla Torson of Xavier were first-team picks in the Mississippi Division.

VALLEY DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Amanda Ollinger, Jefferson Coach of the Year - Matthew Johnson, Cedar Falls

First Team

Amanda Ollinger (CRJ), Lauryn Kramer (CF), Mackenzie May (DW), Laynie Whitehead (ICW), Sarah Renner (LM), Ellie Anderson (LM), Anna Fluent (CRK), Macy Anderson (CRK).

Second Team

Emma Gerdes (CF), Mikaela Morgan (ICW), Tayah Mahi (CF), Sami Boekhoff (LM), Emilee

Ollinger honored on MVC volleyball

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 13:03 -

McGowan (LM), Brinley Milbrath (CRK), Maddie Heiar (DW), Makenzie Tomkins (CRJ).

Honorable Mention Metro Only

Jefferson - Avery Guy, Sam Kitterman Kennedy - Paige Franck, Kendal Meier Linn-Mar - Meg Gostonczik, Carly Spies

All-Academic Metro Only

Jefferson - Brianna Prohaska, Hannah Carter Kennedy - Hannah Skow, Breanna Osterkamp Linn-Mar - Meg Gostonczik, Sarah Renner

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

Athlete of the Year - Alexa Aldrich-Ingram, Iowa City High Coach of the Year - Craig Pitcher, Iowa City High

First Team

Alexa Aldrich-Ingram (ICH), Kate Busswitz (CRP), Kayla Torson (CRX), Ashley Smith (ICH), Kendra Cave (ICH), Kasey Davis (DH), Hope Splinter (DH), Indya Beaman (WE).

Second Team

Ollinger honored on MVC volleyball

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 05 November 2014 13:03 -

Makenzie Soeken (CRP), Caiti Peterson (CRW), Majda Sulic (WW), Shannon James (ICH), Rylee Price (ICH), Makayla Doyle (DH), Mallory Jones (CRP), Madsy Richards (CRX).

Honorable Mention Metro Only

Prairie - Jenni Lockhart, Rachel Shelangoski Washington - Sophie Smith, Rumer Weiland Xavier - Melanie Wertzberger, Olivia Krapfl

All-Academic Metro Only

Prairie - Rachel Shelangoski, Megan Sprengeler Washington - Ellen Holt, Sophie Smith Xavier - Melanie Wertzberger, Olivia Krapfl