Prairie wins district with 5 champs

Written by Metro Sports Report Sunday, 16 February 2014 00:21 -

NEWTON - Cedar Rapids Prairie crowned five champions and captured the Class 3A district wrestling tournament at Newton Saturday.

Marcus England (106), Sam Uthoff (120), Josh Wenger (138), Trey Blaha (152) and Skyler St.John (160) won titles for the Hawks. Taylor Mehmen placed second at 145 pounds for Prairie and also qualified for the state meet in Des Moines.

Prairie won the district title with 251.5 points. Iowa City West finished second with 226.5 points.

TEAM STANDINGS

1. Prairie 251.5, 2. Iowa City West 226.5, 3. Oskaloosa 141, 4. Newton 139, 5. Marshalltown 110.5, 6. Ottumwa 88, 7. Iowa City High 73, 8. Pella 72.

CHAMPIONSHIP BOUTS

- 106 Marcus England (CRP) dec. Koby Hull (NEW), 7-3.
- 113 Tanner Rohweder (ICW) dec. Hunter Versteegh (NEW), 5-0.
- 120 Sam Uthoff (CRP) pinned Skylar DeJong (OSKY), 3:06.
- 126 Chris Walters (ICW) major dec. Chase Petty (PELLA), 13-5.
- 132 Levi Azinger (PELLA) pinned Jakeb Bakken (ICW), 3:22.
- 138 Josh Wenger (CRP) pinned Dakota Dawson (NEW), 3:10.
- 145 Tyler Hebl (ICW) pinned Wyatt Schlotter (OTT), 1:24.
- 152 Trey Blaha (CRP) pinned Peyton Williams (MARSH), 1:15.
- 160 Skyler St. John (CRP) dec. John Milani (ICW), 10-4.
- 170 Jeffrey Thongvanh (NEW) dec. Derek Mann (MARSH), 3-1.
- 182 Mason Wisse (OSKY) pinned Donovan Doyle (ICW), 4:00.
- 195 Ray Schroder (NEW) pinned Drea Lamb (OSKY), 0:57.
- 220 Joey Wright (NEW) pinned Micah Kelsay (ICW), 1:03.
- 285 Avdan Wynos (ICW) pinned Conner Mier (OTT), 4:50.