Prairie Hawks storm to Independence title

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 03 December 2011 20:56 -

INDEPENDENCE - Prairie crowned seven champions, had two runners-up and rolled to the team title Saturday at the Independence Invitational wrestling meet.

Winning titles for Prairie were Josh Wenger (113), Chris Walters (120), Trey Blaha (126), Jamie Day (138), Peyton Wagner (152), Austin Gould (182) and Andrew Netolicky (220). Casey Becker (160) and Cameron Rathje (170) finished second. Zack Fiser (106), Jayden Flege (132) and Skyler St. John (145) had third-place finishes.

Prairie finished with 259.5 points. Osage was second with 220.

Xavier finished eighth with 75 points.

INDEPENDENCE INVITATIONAL

Teams

- 1. Cedar Rapids Prairie 259.50
- 2. Osage 220
- 3. Independence 176
- 4. South Elgin, IL 112
- 5. Hampton Dumont 96
- 5. Marshalltown 96
- 7. Ames 83
- 8. Cedar Rapids Xavier 75
- 9. North Fayette 72
- 10. Waukon 49.5