Witte hopes to join Metro wrestling history

Written by Jim Ecker Sunday, 12 February 2012 21:11 -

Cedar Rapids Prairie senior Zach Witte will be trying to become the 16th multiple state wrestling champion in Metro history this week.

Witte won the Class 3A 145-pound title last year as a junior and will be seeking the 152-pound crown when the IHSAA state tournament is held this Thursday, Friday and Saturday in Des Moines.

Witte compiled a 38-0 record last season and is 19-0 this year after getting a late start due to injury. He'll put his 57-match winning streak on the line Thursday morning when he faces Drake Chase of Bettendorf in the opening round.

There have been 15 multiple state champions from the Metro area since the state meet became a sanctioned event in 1926. Jay Borschel of Linn-Mar is the only four-time state champion in Metro history with titles in 2002, 2003, 2004 and 2005.

Barry Davis of Cedar Rapids Prairie (1978-79-80), Matt McDonough of Linn-Mar (2006-07-08) and Mel Wieland of Cedar Rapids Jefferson (1960-61-62) were three-time state champions.

The two-time state champions from the Metro area are Steve Childs (Jefferson 1962-63), Dan Dubishar (Prairie 1970-71), Matt Hatcher (Prairie 1991-92), Mark Ironside (Jefferson 1992-93), Gary McCall (Washington 1984-85), Dan Osborn (Prairie 1987, 1989), Lance Paulson (Kennedy 1988-89), John Regan (LaSalle 1983-84), Mike Shedek (Xavier 2000-01), Joey Slaton (Kennedy 2004-05) and Jim Zalesky (Prairie 1978-79).

The Metro area is sending 26 wrestlers to the individual state tournament at Wells Fargo Arena. The tournament starts at 9 a.m. Thursday with 16 wrestlers in each weight class.

Tyler Burrell of Washington is ranked No. 1 at 285 pounds entering the tournament. He'll face Nick Terpstra of Cedar Falls in the opening round.

Witte hopes to join Metro wrestling history

Written by Jim Ecker Sunday, 12 February 2012 21:11 -

Andrew Netolicky of Prairie will wrestle top-ranked Willie Miklus of Southeast Polk in the first round at 220 pounds. Netolicky is ranked fourth at 220, but the brackets are pre-determined and not based on seedings.

Damon Griffin of Linn-Mar could face top-ranked Colby Knight of Urbandale in the second round at 120 pounds if he defeats Jordan Easton of Council Bluffs Lincoln in his first bout.

Jordin Eicher of Washington drew second-ranked Jack Hathaway of Iowa City West in the first round at 126 and could face top-ranked Cory Clark of Southeast Polk in the second round.

Sean Ickes of Xavier will wrestle second-ranked Dylan Blackford of Southeast Polk in the first round at 152 pounds.

Casey Becker of Prairie drew second-ranked Zeb Wahle of Lewis Central in the first ruond at 160 pounds.

Here are the first-round pairings for Metro wrestlers:

106

Matt Wempen (Linn-Mar, 44-2) vs. Aaron Meyer (SE Polk, 32-11).

113

Alijah Jeffery (Linn-Mar, 41-5) vs. Jake Kristensen (DM Roosevelt, 32-10) Patrick Rashed (Jefferson, 30-10) vs. Randy Schultz (CB Jefferson, 32-17). Josh Wenger (Prairie, 42-40 vs. Dalton Hanson (SC North, 32-16).

120

Chris Walters (Prairie, 37-3) vs. Eli Johnson (WDM Valley, 37-7). Damon Griffin (Linn-Mar, 39-8) vs. Jordan Easton (CB Lincoln, 32-17).

126

Jordan Eicher (Washington, 31-12) vs. Jack Hathaway (IC West, 46-3). Trevor Berry (Linn-Mar, 37-13) vs. John Christopherson (Spencer, 25-1). Trey Blaha (Prairie, 33-5) vs. Chase Helenthal (Keokuk, 30-8).

Witte hopes to join Metro wrestling history

```
Written by Jim Ecker
Sunday, 12 February 2012 21:11 -
```

132

Luke Kremer (Kennedy, 36-5) vs. Andrew Bartel (Mason City, 29-19). Joel Northrup (Linn-Mar, 41-5) vs. Damone Manning (Burlington, 31-8).

138

Ryan Rodriguez (Kennedy, 33-12) vs. Briar Dittmer (SE Polk, 26-15).

145

Peyton Wagner (Prairie, 19-2) vs. Kolton Rottink (Waverly-SR, 34-8). Ross Lembeck (Linn-Mar, 45-2) vs. Dawson Nemmers (Western Dubuque, 32-9).

152

Sean Ickes (Xavier, 24-17) vs. Dylan Blackford (SE Polk, 41-3). Kaisar Herz (Washington, 26-13) vs. Blake Letney (Pleasant Valley, 25-3). Zach Witte (Prairie, 19-0) vs. Drake Chase (Bettendorf, 16-9).

160

Casey Becker (Prairie, 16-12) vs. Zeb Wahle (CB Lewis Central, 46-2).

170

Cameron Rathje (Prairie, 36-5) vs. Jacob Bell (WDM Valley, 29-14). Mitch Wantock (Linn-Mar, 24-2) vs. Drake Swedlund (SC East, 34-15).

182

Austin Gould (Prairie, 38-5) vs. Ryan Maxwell (Keokuk, 13-2). Mark Atwater (Linn-Mar, 28-3) vs. Michael Licht (Fort Dodge, 26-16).

195

Jack Boland (Xavier, 36-8) vs. Dane Jones (Oskaloosa, 31-6).

220

A.J. Garcia (Linn-Mar, 38-10) vs. Kyle Beale (Davenport West, 31-12). Andrew Netolicky (Prairie, 38-6) vs. Willie Miklus (SE Polk, 43-0).

285

Tyler Burrell (Washington, 36-2) vs. Nick Terpstra (Cedar Falls, 34-14).