lowa City West hangs 1st MVC loss on Hawks

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 13 January 2011 22:41 - Last Updated Saturday, 15 January 2011 19:22

IOWA CITY -- Top-ranked Iowa City West dealt Prairie its first Mississippi Valley Conference wrestling defeat Thursday night, 59-3.

Prairie's only winner was Alex Steenblock was the Hawks' only winner, beating Mike Watkins 3-1 at 171 pounds.

West had four pins, three technical falls and two major decisions.

Prairie decked Washington, 58-12, to garner a split. The Hawks (19-3, 9-1 MVC) had five pins.

IOWA CITY WEST 59, PRAIRIE 3

103 -- Phillip Laux (ICW) dec. Trey Blaha, 9-2 112 -- Ernest Willis (ICW) dec. Jayden Flege, 4-1; 119 -- Kegan Wakefield (ICW) major dec. Chris Walters, 14-2; 125 -- Jack Hathaway (ICW) pinned Dylan Becker, 3:10; 130 -- Dakota Bauer (ICW) tech. fall River Whitters, 26-11; 135 -- Gradey Gambrall (ICW) tech fall Jamie Day, 24-8; 140 -- Elijah Sullivan (ICW) pinned Cory Fisher, 1:30; 145 -- Garrett Hathaway (ICW) pinned Marcus Jasa, :28; 152 -- Britt Thompson (ICW) tech. fall Cam Rathje, 20-5; 160 -- Justin Koethe (ICW) major dec. Peyton Wagner, 16-3; 171 -- Alex Steenblock (CRP) dec. Mike Watkins, 3-1; 189 -- Mickey Pelfrey (ICW) dec. Andrew Netolicky, 6-2; 215 -- Sean Beasley (ICW) pinned Tyler Zacek, 1:59; 285 -- Colin Foerstner (ICW) dec. Colton Tonn, 5-1.

PRAIRIE 58, WASHINGTON 12

103 -- Trey Blaha (CRP) pinned Trey Schuler, 1:38; 112 -- Jayden Flege (CRP) major dec. Troy Neagle, 17-8; 119 -- Chris Walters (CRP) tech. fall Jon Rockwell, 20-5; 125 -- Jordin Eicher (CRW) dec. Dylan Becker, 10-5; 130 -- River Whitters (CRP) pinned JP Mercado, 3:13; 135 -- Jamie Day (CRP) major dec. Trevor Luebe, 10-2; 140 -- Kaiser Herz (CRW) pinned Cory Fisher, 4:46; 145 -- Marcus Jasa (CRP) dec. Tyler Burkle, 11-5; 152 -- Cam Rathje (CRP) pinned Evan Lehrman, :40; 160 -- Peyton Wagner (CRP) pinned Drake Hickok, 5:00; 171 --

Iowa City West hangs 1st MVC loss on Hawks

Written by Metro Sports Report Thursday, 13 January 2011 22:41 - Last Updated Saturday, 15 January 2011 19:22

Alex Steenblock (CRP) won by forfeit; 189 -- Andrew Netolicky (CRP) pinned Dixon Griffith, :51; 215 -- Tyler Zacek (CRP) won by forfeit; 285 -- Tyler Burrell (CRW) dec. Colton Tonn, 5-0.