Ekland, Lembeck lead Xavier grapplers

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 23 January 2015 00:24 - Last Updated Friday, 23 January 2015 00:28

Nic Ekland is making up for lost time with the Xavier wrestling team.

Ekland, a senior, did not join the program until his final year in school, and then his debut was delayed while he recovered from a broken ankle suffered during the football season. He showed what he can do Thursday night with two pins at 195 pounds in a Mississippi Valley Conference meet at Xavier.

Ekland pinned Payne Johnson of Waterloo East in 2:30 and stuck Brock Hunger of Iowa City High in 52 seconds.

The Saints lost both meets, falling to Waterloo East (45-30) and lowa City High (55-22).

Clint Lembeck, ranked No. 2 at 132 pounds for Xavier, also had two pins for the Saints. Josh Gerke went 2-0 for the Saints with a pin and forfeit.

WATERLOO EAST 45, XAVIER 30

- 285 Omar Begic (WAEA) pinned Michael Maher, 1:47
- 106 Keegan Schultschik (XAVI) pinned Darrell Lowery, 1:49
- 113 Jeff Vipond (XAVI) pinned Brayden Good, 0:53
- 120 Josh Cannon (WAEA) won by forfeit
- 126 Kyler Lowe (WAEA) won by forfeit
- 132 Josh Gerke (XAVI) won by forfeit
- 138 Clint Lembeck (XAVI) pinned Nathan Nielson, 0:29
- 145 Jeremiah Jordan (WAEA) pinned Shane Scott, 2:58
- 152 Dalyne King (WAEA) dec. Brant Charipar, 13-6
- 160 Chase Pryor (WAEA) pinned Ryan Williams, 0:54
- 170 Quallan Phillips (WAEA) tech fall Matt Bouska, 23-8
- 182 Eric Gleiter (WAEA) dec. Sam Meyers, 3-1
- 195 Nic Ekland (XAVI) pinned Payne Johnson, 2:30
- 220 Nekema Carter (WAEA) major dec. Thomas Pudil, 12-3

Ekland, Lembeck lead Xavier grapplers

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 23 January 2015 00:24 - Last Updated Friday, 23 January 2015 00:28

IOWA CITY HIGH 55, XAVIER 22

- 106 Joey Harney (ICC) dec. Jeff Vipond, 7-5
- 113 Jacob Powers (ICC) pinned Keegan Schultschik, 4:32
- 120 Justice Jarosh (ICC) won by forfeit
- 126 Josh Gerke (XAVI) major dec. Daniel Kelly, 20-6
- 132 Clint Lembeck (XAVI) pinned Jack Anson, 3:23
- 138 Alex Kooker (ICC) won by forfeit
- 145 Colton Chalupa (ICC) pinned Shane Scott, 1:13
- 152 Ali Omar (ICC) pinned Brant Charipar, 1:12
- 160 Nic Jarvis (ICC) pinned Ryan Williams, 2:18
- 170 Sarrive Rukakiza (ICC) major dec. Matt Bouska, 15-7
- 182 Jacob Dykes (ICC) pinned Sam Meyers, 0:57
- 195 Nic Ekland (XAVI) pinned Brock Hunger, 0:52
- 220 Armani Smith (ICC) pinned Thomas Pudil, 1:16
- 285 Michael Maher (XAVI) won by forfeit