Paige named All-Metro Athlete of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 March 2011 08:24 - Last Updated Friday, 18 March 2011 13:19



Linn-Mar junior Marcus Paige has been named the Athlete of the Year on the All-Metro boys basketball team and his coach, Chris Robertson, has been named the Coach of the Year.

Metro coaches placed seven players on the first team, including four unanimous picks with Paige, Jarrod Uthoff (Jefferson), Josh Oglesby (Washington) and Wes Washpun (Washington). The other first-team selections were Matt Bohannon (Linn-Mar), Jake Manning (Kennedy) and Kasey Semler (Marion).

Uthoff has been honored this month as Mr. Basketball and the Gatorade Player of the Year, the two most prestigious awards in the state, but Metro coaches felt Paige deserved to be the Metro Athlete of the Year for basketball.

Linn-Mar went 26-0 this season, sweeping the Mississippi Valley Conference title and capturing the Class 4A state title.

The All-Metro second team included Josh Montague (Linn-Mar), Shane Benton (Linn-Mar), Kyle Lamaak (Kennedy), Taylor Olson (Jefferson), Christian French (Kennedy), Matt MacDougall (Prairie) and Kevin Hosch (Xavier).

Honorable Mention

Ian McBrayer (LM), Michael Thul (LM), Tyler Meiborg (CRJ), Alec Saunders (CRJ), Jake Misener (CRK), Joe Coleman (CRK), Sean Bredl (CRW), Cybryan Moa (CRW), Jacob Aune (CRP), Matt Jantzen (CRP), Mitch McLaughlin (CRX), Nolan Dunkirk (CRX), Dusty Albaugh (Marion).