Prep all-star games set for Kirkwood

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 March 2015 19:07 - Last Updated Tuesday, 24 March 2015 19:28

The 5th annual Eastern Iowa All-Star Game will be held at Kirkwood Community College Wednesday night.

The event features college-bound basketball players, including Northern Iowa recruits Luke McDonnell, Spencer Haldeman and Mikaela Morgan.

The girls all-star game will begin at 6 p.m., with the boys starting at approximately 7:30. There will be a 3-point shootout during halftime of the girls game and a dunking exhibition during halftime of the boys game.

The event features 29 INA All-State selections, headlined by Western Dubuque's Haldeman, lowa's Gatorade Player of the Year.

Amanda Sahm of Marion, Craig Engle of Marion and Stephanie Botkin of Kennedy plan to participate.

Notable alumni of this event include Josh Oglesby (Iowa), Wes Washpun (Northern Iowa), Jeremy Morgan (Northern Iowa), Korey Kuenstling (Drake), Josiah Coleman (North Dakota), Tia Dawson (Dartmouth), Claire Till (Iowa), Madison Weekly (Northern Iowa), Paige Greiner (Drake), Emily Clemens (Western Illinois) and Blair Thomas (Iowa State).

Tickets cost \$8 for adults and \$6 for students.

Prep all-star games set for Kirkwood

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 March 2015 19:07 - Last Updated Tuesday, 24 March 2015 19:28

BOYS North Squad

Spencer Haldeman, Western Dubuque Jake Velky, Waverly-Shell Rock Robert Duax, Hempstead Caleb Hagaman, Charles City Colin Connelly, Clayton Ridge Craig Engle, Marion Josh Carter, Wahlert Lincoln Conrey, Waterloo West Jarrett Easton, Monticello Ethan Steinbronn, West Central

South Squad

Nasir Shabazz, Davenport North
Emilio Villagrana, Solon
Miles Wentzien, Fort Madison
Adam Klein, Williamsburg
Connor Hoelzen, Danville
Jonny Dahl, Keokuk
David DiLeo, Iowa City West
Roman Youngblut, Davenport Assumption
Luke McDonnell, Dubuque Senior
Josh Koeppel, Williamsburg

GIRLS North Squad

Prep all-star games set for Kirkwood

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 23 March 2015 19:07 - Last Updated Tuesday, 24 March 2015 19:28

Sarah Matus, Springville
Amanda Sahm, Marion
Blair Klostermann, Dyersville Beckman
Emma Noel, Dubuque Senior
Rose Simon-Ressler, Western Dubuque
Victoria Asplund, Waverly-Shell Rock
Kari Fitzpatrick, Edgewood-Colesburg
Stephanie Botkin, Kennedy
Jessica Brown, Dubuque Hempstead
Adrienne Boettger, Cedar Falls

South Squad

Danielle Craig, Iowa City West
Taylor Hickey, Burlington Notre Dame
Allison Platte, Mount Vernon
Annabel Graettinger, Muscatine
Rylee Voss, English Valleys
Mikaela Morgan, Iowa City West
Andrea Larson, Mediapolis
Kaitlyn Johnson, Van Buren
Julia Groenenboom, North Mahaska
Hanna Stokes, Clear Creek-Amana