2 Cougars, 1 Saint on MVC volleyball squads

Kennedy's Allie Hutcheson and Alexus Rogers were selected to the Mississippi Division first team, and Xavier's Kelly Biermann to the Valley Division first team of the Mississippi Valley Conference volleyball all-conference teams.

Biermann, a senior outside hitter, was a unanimous selection. She had team-highs for kills (293) and aces (30). She also had 41 blocks.

Hutcheson, a senior, was selected as a setter, even though she led the Cougars with 267 kills. She also had a team-high 735 assists to go along with 173 digs and 51 blocks.

Rogers, a junior middle hitter, had 214 kills and 82 blocks.

Class 4A No. 2 Iowa City High, Class 3A No. 1 Dubuque Wahlert and Kennedy, ranked seventh in 4A, had two players apiece on the Mississippi Division first team. Wahlert senior Amy Ihm, City High sophomore Michaela Nelson and Waterloo West senior Zinka Duric were unanimous first team selections. Duric was named Athlete of the Year.

Class 4A No. 1 Iowa City West, No. 4 Dubuque Hempstead and No. 11 Cedar Falls had two players apiece on the Valley Division first team. West seniors Shelly Stumpff and Anna Pashkova, Hempstead junior Audrey Reeg and Biermann were unanimous first team selections. Stumpff was named Athlete of the Year.

Craig Pitcher of Iowa City High and Kathy Bresnahan of Iowa City West were Coaches of the Year.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS (*-Unanimous selections)

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

2 Cougars, 1 Saint on MVC volleyball squads

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 07 November 2011 01:12 - Last Updated Monday, 07 November 2011 01:13

First Team

- OH *Zinka Duric (Waterloo West), sr.
- OH *Amy Ihm (Wahlert), sr.
- OH *Michaela Nelson (IC High), soph.
- MH Alexus Rogers (CRK), jr.
- S Allie Hutcheson (CRK), sr.
- S Erin Muir (IC High), sr.
- S Beth Walker (Wahlert), jr.
- L Ellie Rauch (Wahlert), sr.

Second Team OH - Callie Cooley (Waterloo West), jr.

- OH Dani Franklin (CRW), soph.
- OH Alyssa Klostermann (Wahlert), jr.
- OH Katherine Thompson (CRK), sr.
- OH Angela Wagner (Dubuque Sr.), jr.
- MH Abby Saehler (IC High), jr.
- MB Jordan Calef (CRK), jr.
- L Laura Shepherd (IC High), sr.

Honorable Mention

Kennedy - Erin Coker, soph.; Naomi Pfeil, sr. Washington - Jessica Erb, sr.; Hanna Reese, jr. Linn-Mar - Megan Allmandinger, jr.; Meghan Holdgrafer, sr.

Academic All-Conference Kennedy - Zoe Bachman, Allie Hutcheson Washington - Jessica Erb, Abbie Peterson Linn-Mar - Meghan Holdgrafer, Amber Gonsoski

Athlete of the Year - Zinka Duric (Waterloo West)

Coach of the Year - Craig Pitcher (IC High)

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team

- OH *Kelly Biermann (CRX), sr.
- OH * Audrey Reeg (Hempstead), jr.
- OH *Shelly Stumpff (IC West), sr.
- MB Kaz Brown (Cedar Falls), soph.
- S Heather Splinter (Hempstead), soph.
- L Jamie Farley (Cedar Falls), sr.
- L *Anna Pashkova (IC West), sr.

Second Team

2 Cougars, 1 Saint on MVC volleyball squads

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 07 November 2011 01:12 - Last Updated Monday, 07 November 2011 01:13

OH - Allison Bitter (Hempstead), soph.
OH - Miranda Dusenberry (Cedar Falls), jr.
OH - Taylor Soeken (CRP), jr.
MH - Becca Bell (CRP), jr.
MB - Hannah Infelt (IC West), sr.
MB - Haley Van Cleave (Hempstead), soph.
S - Kelley Fliehler (IC West), sr.
S - Sarah Homan (CRX), jr.
Honorable Mention
Jefferson - Kayla Jaschen, soph.; Kelli Walsh, sr.
Prairie - Halle Lueck, soph.; Taylor Stecklein, sr.

Xavier - Cara Reilly, sr.; Audrey Richards, sr.

Academic All-Conference

Jefferson - Jenna Sarantakos, Kelli Walsh Prairie - Courtney Clark, Kelsi Ludvicek, Taylor Stecklein Xavier - Kelly Biermann, Cara Reilly

Athlete of the Year - Shelly Stumpff (IC West)

Coach of the Year - Kathy Bresnahan (IC West)