Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 November 2011 10:49 - Last Updated Friday, 18 November 2011 10:55



Mark Atwater, who quarterbacked Linn-Mar to an unbeaten regular season and No. 2 ranking in the polls, is the Metro Football Player of the Year, according to voting by the Metro football coaches.

Atwater, a senior, completed nearly 4 percent of his passes for 1,715 yards and 25 touchdowns. He also ran for 808 yards and 12 touchdowns. He also started at linebacker for the Lions and had 53 tackles.

Atwater was one of three Lions named to the All-Metro first team offense. Senior wide receiver Andy Henry caught 53 passes for 1,020 yards and a Mississippi Valley Conference record 18 touchdowns. Senior Mitch Wantock rushed for 1,109 yards and nien touchdowns in nine games. He broke his ankle in Linn-Mar's regular season finale at Xavier and was unavailable for the Lions' two playoff games.

Linn-Mar seniors A.J. Garcia and Tommy Feller were named to the first team defense. Feller led the Lions with 86 tackles. Garcia, a lineman, had 25 tackles, including seven for loss.

Linn-Mar finished 10-1, losing to Washington in the second round of the Class 4A playoffs.

Washington had five players on the first team. Senior Flynn Heald was the only Warrior to make the offensive team. He caught 63 passes -- 21 in one game -- for 954 yards and five touchdowns.

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 November 2011 10:49 - Last Updated Friday, 18 November 2011 10:55

Seniors David Tann, Sean Bredl and Ryan Cain were named to the first team defense. Bredl, a linebacker, led the Warriors with 106 tackles, including 10 for loss. Tann, who alternated between safety and linebacker, had 101 tackles (18 for loss) and intercepted three passes, one for a touchdown. Cain, a cornerback, missed most of the first four games because of a broken collarbone, but came back and had 33 tackles and three interceptions.

Senior Michael Peterson was named the punter on the team with a 39.2 average.

Tony Lombardi and the Washington coaching staff were named Coach of the Year. The Warriors finished the season 8-4, reaching the quarterfinals of the playoffs where they were beaten by Cedar Falls, 35-32.

Xavier also had five players on the first team, three on offense. Senior tackles William Wright helped open the holes that allowed senior running back Carter Valentine to rush for 1,149 yards and 10 touchdowns. Junior quarterback Reggie Schulte completed 65.5 percent of his passes for 1,501 yards and 12 touchdowns.

Senior defensive end Kevin Hosch had 32 tackles for the Saints. Senior Chad Gilmer converted 20 of 21 PAT kicks and 4 of 8 on field goals with a long of 42 yards.

Kennedy had four first teamers, two on each side of the ball. Senior Trevor Heitland ran for 714 yards and 12 touchdowns and caught 29 passes for 542 yards and five touchdowns as a flanker/running back. senior quarterback Jimmy Lizarraga completed 53.5 per cent of his passes for 1,385 yards and eight touchdowns.

Senior safety Josh Jahlas led the Cougars in tackles with 116. He also intercepted two passes. Senior defensive end Logan Letellier had 93 tackles, 10 for loss.

Marion had three players on the first team. Senior Colton Storla led the Metro in rushing with 1,222 yards and 17 touchdowns.

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 November 2011 10:49 - Last Updated Friday, 18 November 2011 10:55

Marion senior linebacker Jake McDonald was the Metro leader in tackling with 135, including 21 for loss. His 135 tackles ranked fourth in Class 3A and his 21 for loss ranked second in 3A. He finished with 325 career tackles.

Marion senior cornerback Hunter Banes had seven interceptions, ranking him tied for second in Class 3A. He also had 65 tackles.

Prairie had two players on the first team. Junior wide receiver Jarred Edmonds caught 26 passes for 529 yards and seven touchdowns. Sophomore Tristan Beyer had 52 tackles.

Jefferson's lone representative on the first team was senior defensive lineman Mic Vesey, who had 16 tackles.

## 2011 ALL-METRO FOOTBALL TEAM

### FIRST TEAM

Offense

Mark Atwater, Linn-Mar, sr.

Andy Henry, Linn-Mar, sr.

Mitch Wantock, Linn-Mar, sr.

Flynn Heald, Washington, sr.

Trevor Heitland, Kennedy, sr.

Jimmy Lizarraga, Kennedy, sr.

William Wright, Xavier, sr.

Carter Valentine, Xavier, sr.

Reggie Schulte, Xavier, jr.

Colton Storla, Marion, sr.

Jarred Edmonds, Prairie, jr.

PK - Chad Gilmer, Xavier, sr.

# Defense

A.J. Garcia, Linn-Mar, sr.

Tommy Feller, Linn-Mar, sr.

David Tann, Washington, sr.

Sean Bredl, Washington, sr.

Ryan Cain, Washington, sr.

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 November 2011 10:49 - Last Updated Friday, 18 November 2011 10:55

Logan Letellier, Kennedy, sr.

Josh Jahlas, Kennedy, sr.

Kevin Hosch, Xavier, sr.

Jake McDonald, Marion, sr.

Hunter Banes, Marion, sr.

Mic Vesey, Jefferson, sr.

Tristan Beyer, Prairie, soph.

P - Michael Peterson, Washington, sr.

## SECOND TEAM

Offense

Dustin Smith, Linn-Mar, sr.

Tyler Burrell, Washington, sr.

Zac Gilles, Washington, jr.

Austin Holzer, Kennedy, soph.

Alex Hillyer, Kennedy, jr.

Zach Borens, Marion, jr.

Ethan Herren, Marion, jr.

Christian Knox, Jefferson, sr.

Ryan Eivins, Jefferson, sr.

Sam Manternach, Prairie, sr.

## Defense

Colton Sanchez, Linn-Mar, sr.

Travis Kvach, Linn-Mar, sr.

Michael Redmond, Linn-Mar, sr.

Michael Daughtery, Washington, sr.

Stohrm Henry, Washington, sr.

Shane Williams, Kennedy, sr.

Colm Larkin, Xavier, sr.

Jordan Weber, Xavier, sr.

Jack Boland, Xavier, sr.

Justin Dolley, Marion, jr.

Brayton Carlson, Prairie, sr.

# **HONORABLE MENTION**

Marion -- Brennen Kelly, Taylor Rogers, Trev Biery, Cale Cannoy, Tyler Gunderson Xavier -- Seth Fahnle, Josh Giles, Matt Hansen, Jordan Hoffman, Corbin Woods Jefferson -- Tanner Lunfd, Aaron Gruwell, Austin Short, Austin Goodell, Alex Baxter Prairie -- Jace Hanna, Bryce Meeker, Demetrius Harper, Mitch Dellamuth, Bryce Alberts Washington -- Braedon Tovey, Mitch Bredeson, JoJo McBride, McCauley Todd, Mitch Blades Kennedy -- Michael Lawshea, Gage Berry, David Hynek, Riley Fergus, Drew Heitland Linn-Mar -- Jacob Hutchins, Bryan Goings, Justin Green, Zach Martins, Nick Trabuco

2011 METRO FOOTBALL PLAYER OF THE YEAR -- Mark Atwater, Linn-Mar

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 18 November 2011 10:49 - Last Updated Friday, 18 November 2011 10:55

2011 METRO COACH OF THE YEAR -- Tony Lombardi and staff, Washington