Tara Trcka heads all-Metro bowling team

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 15:48 -

Xavier sophomore Tara Trcka, who won the Class 1A state bowling title Thursday, has been named the Metro's female bowler of the year.

Trcka and Jefferson senior Nicole Werling were the only unanimous choices on the girls All-Metro team. Jefferson had four bowlers on the six-member first team. Joining Werling were senior Allie Trcka, juniors Courtney Moore and Whitnie Jones, and Linn-Mar junior Abby Stenersen. Tara and Allie Trcka are cousins.

Jefferson senior Dan Healy is the male bowler of the year. The J-Hawks also had three first teamers on the boys All-Metro team. Healy was joined by senior James Bruce and junior Michael Kilts, Prairie junior Jeremy Cline and sophomore Brogan Fiala, and Linn-Mar junior Corey Prokop. Fiala and Prokop were unanimous selections.

Jefferson's Virg Cerveny and Linn-Mar's Andy Diercks were named co-Coaches of the year.

ALL-METRO BOWLING

(* -- unanimous selections)

Girls

First Team

*Nicole Werling, sr., Jefferson; *Tara Trcka, soph., Xavier; Allie Trcka, sr., Jefferson; Courtney Moore, jr., Jefferson; Whitnie Jones, jr., Jefferson; Abby Stenerson, jr., Linn-Mar.

Tara Trcka heads all-Metro bowling team

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 15:48 -

Second Team

Keely Pernicka, fr., Washington; Jami Kadolph, jr., Prairie; Amanda Wiedemeier, soph., Kennedy; Nicole Petersen, soph., Jefferson; Jenna Alff, sr., Jefferson; Stacey Schwarzenstein, jr., Linn-Mar.

Honorable Mention

Jefferson -- Anna Striegel, Lindsey James; Kennedy -- Alecia McEachran, Paige Ermer; Prairie -- Kate Palmer, Niona Bruce; Washington -- Ashley Duffy, Rachel Spencer; Linn-Mar -- Valerie Loudenback, McKenzie Rathje; Xavier -- Tyler Weger, Aileen Conway; Marion -- Taylor Lamm, Juliah Bandfield.

Female Bowler of the Year -- Tara Trcka, Xavier

Co-Coach of the Year -- Virg Cerveny, Jefferson

Boys

First Team

*Brogan Fiala, soph., Prairie; *Corey Prokop, jr., Linn-Mar; Dan Healy, sr., Jefferson; Michael Kilts, jr., Jefferson; James Bruce, sr., Jefferson; Jeremy Cline, jr., Prairie.

Second Team

Tara Trcka heads all-Metro bowling team

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 25 February 2011 15:48 -

Tristan Stevens, jr., Linn-Mar; Dreyson Robe, soph., Linn-Mar; Sean Steichen, sr., Prairie; Casey Sheets, sr., Kennedy; Quincy Bruce, soph., Washington; Zach Burhite, sr., Marion.

Honorable Mention

Kennedy -- Troy McKiernan, Joe Warkel; Prairie -- Nick Blood, Chase Bicket; Jefferson -- Will James, Tory Youker; Xavier -- Kyle Elliott, Alex Gibney; Washington -- Zach Christensen, Ryan Bundy; Linn-Mar -- Tyler Lemon, Justin Wyant; Marion -- Kyle Wilson, Peter Rethwisch.

Male Bowler of the Year -- Dan Healy, Jefferson

Co-Coach of the Year -- Andy Diercks, Linn-Mar