Nominations set for Linn County Athletes of Year

Written by Jim Ecker Friday, 27 May 2011 16:13 - Last Updated Friday, 27 May 2011 16:46

Twenty-eight athletes from 14 high schools have been nominated for the Linn County Male & Female Athlete of the Year awards.

The winners will be announced at the 11th Annual Celebration of Sports Banquet on Sunday, June 12 at the Clarion Hotel & Convention Center in Cedar Rapids. The event begins at 4 p.m.

The male nominees from the Metro area are Conner Herman (Jefferson), Ryan Sheldon (Kennedy), Matt Stocker (Prairie), Alex Carr (Washington), Nate Even (Xavier), Matt Bohannon (Linn-Mar) and Kasey Semler (Marion).

The female nominees from the Metro area Ashley Madsen (Jefferson), Shauna Happel (Kennedy), Katie Carver (Prairie), Layloni Beard (Washington), Tyler Sampson (Xavier), Kiah Stokes (Linn-Mar) and Leah Smith (Marion).

lowa State men's basketball coach Fred Hoiberg will be the featured speaker at the banquet. The banquet is sponsored by the Cedar Rapids Area Convention & Visitors Bureau.

Tickets cost \$30 per person or \$240 for a table of eight and can be purchased by calling 319-398-5009 ext. 125.

The other nominees are:

Alburnett - Jordan Neighbor, Dara Lipke.
Center Point-Urbana - Joey Dighton, Kailey Bryant.
Central City - Jacob Etten, Vanessa Fiechtner.
Lisbon - Tyler Gunderson, Alex Wilson.
Mount Vernon - Andrew Bellamy, Holly Salzbrenner.
North-Linn - James Estabrook, Shannon Waring.
Springville - Joel Lam, Katie Wyman.

Nominations set for Linn County Athletes of Year

Written by Jim Ecker Friday, 27 May 2011 16:13 - Last Updated Friday, 27 May 2011 16:46