Besong named Metro Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 01 June 2011 03:13 - Last Updated Wednesday, 01 June 2011 13:30

Washington senior midfielder Brandon Besong has been named the Metro boys soccer Player of the Year by a vote of the Metro coaches.

Besong helped Washington to a 16-3 record and state tournament berth. He has signed a letter of intent to play college soccer at Missouri State.

Metro scoring leader Garet Christianson and his brother Gabe Christianson were named to the All-Metro first team, The Cougars also have qualified for the state tournament.

Xavier had three first teamers, forward Zach Smith, midfielder Chad Gilmer and defender Tim Bouchard. The Saints' Amir Hadzic was named Coach of the Year. Xavier will defend its Class 2A title at the state tournament, beginning Thursday in Des Moines.

ALL METRO BOYS SOCCER

First Team

- F Zach Smith (Xavier)
- F Garet Christianson (Kennedy)
- F Steen Irish (Marion)
- F Noah Landherr (Linn-Mar)
- M Brandon Besong (Washington)
- M Austin Bergstrom (Washington)
- M Chad Gilmer (Xavier)
- M Gabe Christianson (Kennedy)
- M Brady Anderson (Prairie)
- D Tim Bouchard (Xavier)
- D Keegan Menken (Marion)
- K Camron Harrison (Washington)
- K Andrew Patience (Jefferson)

Second Team

F - Jon Paulson (Linn-Mar)

Besong named Metro Player of the Year

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 01 June 2011 03:13 - Last Updated Wednesday, 01 June 2011 13:30

- M Joe Eken (Washington)
- M Charlie Parks (Washington)
- M Michael Tessmer (Xavier)
- M Dan Cowden (Xavier)
- M Nick Bruns (Kennedy)
- M Shane Glenn (Kennedy)
- M Lukas Mees (Marion)
- M Mike Zimmerman (Linn-Mar)
- M Colyn Snyder (Prairie)
- D Zach Brunscheen (Prairie)
- K Ben Feltes (Kennedy)
- K Zach Nielsen (Marion)

Honorable Mention

Washington -- David Nega, Jordy Brown

Xavier -- Colin Gunn, Chris Kapfer

Kennedy -- Matt Peak, Riley Galbraith

Prairie -- Jason Vizzini, Spencer Gaddis

Jefferson -- Esam Al-Yassery, Tomas Damjanic

Linn-Mar -- Justin Green, Ben McClimon

Marion -- Nick Rael, Eli Smith

Player of the Year -- Brandon Besong (Washington)

Coach of the Year -- Amir Hadzic (Xavier)