Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 17 January 2011 14:11 - Last Updated Monday, 24 January 2011 19:23

The dream scenario of getting four Metro boys basketball teams to the Class 4A state tournament did not pan out Monday.

The Iowa High School Athletic Association put No. 4 Kennedy and Washington in the same substate, which means only one of them can make the state tournament in Des Moines.

No. 1 Linn-Mar and No. 8 Jefferson were assigned to different substates, so three of the Metro's top four teams -- Linn-Mar, Kennedy, Jefferson and Washington -- could reach the state tournament if they win substate titles.

Kennedy Coach Bob Fontana appeared to take his substate assignment with Washington in stride.

"Honestly, I didn't get all worked up about it," he said. "With all the good teams in the area, I knew we'd up with somebody good."

Kennedy and Washington were placed in Substate 4 with Bettendorf, Clinton, Dubuque Hempstead and Dubuque Senior. The Cougars beat the Warriors, 56-51, at Kennedy on Dec. 21.

Linn-Mar was placed in Substate 6 with Xavier, Iowa City High, North Scott, Ottumwa and Pleasant Valley.

Jefferson was assigned to Substate 3 with Prairie, No. 6 Cedar Falls, Western Dubuque, Waterloo East and Waterloo West.

The IHSAA will not announce the substate pairings, sites and byes until Feb. 7 or Feb. 8. The association will use a point system to seed the teams, based on games through Feb. 5. The top

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 17 January 2011 14:11 - Last Updated Monday, 24 January 2011 19:23

two seeds in each substate will receive first-round byes.

In previous years, the IHSAA artificially determined substate assignments prior to the season. This year, the association waited until Monday to make the assignments in an effort to put top teams in different substates and get the best teams to state.

"It's not an easy task," Fontana said. "I think I can speak for a lot of coaches, we appreciate them waiting."

The Marion Indians, who play in Class 3A, were assigned to an eight-team substate with Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Independence, Mount Vernon, Oelwein, Union and Vinton-Shellsburg.

The postseason trail begins Feb. 21. The state tournament is March 7-12 at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

CLASS 4A SUBSTATES

(Includes this week's AP ranking)

Substate 1: Council Bluffs Lincoln, Council Bluffs Jefferson, Lewis Central, No. 2 Sioux City East, Sioux City North, Sioux City West.

Substate 2: Ames, Fort Dodge, Marshalltown, Mason City, West Des Moines Valley, No. 5 Waukee.

Substate 3: No. 6 Cedar Falls, No. 8 Cedar Rapids Jefferson, Western Dubuque, Cedar Rapids Prairie, Waterloo East, Waterloo West.

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 17 January 2011 14:11 - Last Updated Monday, 24 January 2011 19:23

Substate 4: Bettendorf, No. 4 Cedar Rapids Kennedy, Cedar Rapids Washington, Clinton, Dubuque Hempstead, Dubuque Senior.

Substate 5: Burlington, No. 7 Davenport Central, Davenport North, No. 10 Davenport West, Iowa City West, Muscatine.

Substate 6: Iowa City High, No. 1 Linn-Mar, North Scott, Ottumwa, Pleasant Valley, Xavier.

Substate 7: No. 3 Ankeny, Des Moines East, Des Moines Lincoln, Des Moines North, Johnston, Southeast Polk.

Substate 8: No. 9 Des Moines Hoover, Des Moines Roosevelt, Dowling Catholic, Indianola, Newton, Urbandale.

CLASS 3A SUBSTATES

Substate 1: Atlantic, No. 2 Sioux City Heelan, Denison-Schleswig, Glenwood, Harlan, LeMars, Red Oak, Sergeant Bluff-Luton.

Substate 2: Algona, No. 5 Carroll, Humboldt, MOC-Floyd Valley, Spencer, Spirit Lake, Storm Lake, Webster City.

Substate 3: Charles City, Clear Lake, Crestwood, Decorah, Hampton-Dumont, No. 6T Iowa Falls, Waukon, No. 4 Waverly-Shell Rock.

Substate 4: Benton Community, Center Point-Urbana, Independence, Marion, Mount Vernon,

Written by Jim Ecker Monday, 17 January 2011 14:11 - Last Updated Monday, 24 January 2011 19:23

Oelwein, Union, Vinton-Shellsburg.

Substate 5: Anamosa, No. 9 Davenport Assumption, DeWitt Clinton, Clear Creek-Amana, Maquoketa, No. 1 Solon, Dubuque Wahlert, West Delaware.

Substate 6: Fairfield, Fort Madison, Keokuk, No. 10 Mount Pleasant, Oskaloosa, No. 8 Pella, Washington, Williamsburg.

Substate 7: Ballard, Boone, No. 6T Dallas Center-Grimes, Grinnell, Nevada, Perry, Saydel, South Tama.

Substate 8: Adel A-D-M, Carlisle, Centerville, Chariton, Creston, Knoxville, No. 3 Norwalk, Winterset.