A pair of Metro athletes earned Athlete of the Year honors in girls soccer in the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Kayla Armstrong of Xavier was top athlete in the Valley Division and Tory Harman of Kennedy earned the same honor in the Mississippi Division.

Armstrong led Xavier to its eighth straight state title. Harman's Kennedy team finished one game away from a state berth.

A total of 13 Metro players earned first team all-conference berths, nine in the Valley Division and four in the Mississippi Division.

The 13 are: Armstrong, Sammi Shepard (Xavier), Monica Busse (Xavier), Olivia Garcia (Linn-Mar), Jensen Sevening (Linn-Mar), Malory Garman (Linn-Mar), Katie Kigin (Washington), Sarah Keppler (Washington), Mackenzie Serbousek (Prairie), Harman, Kaela Dickerman (Kennedy), Jordan Holmes (Kennedy) and Shalyn Kinney (Jefferson).

Twelve more Metro athletes were named to second teams.

The Linn-Mar coaches were named staff of the year in the Valley Division.

MISSISSIPPI VALLEY GIRLS SOCCER ALL-CONFERENCE

VALLEY DIVISION

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 10 June 2013 18:34 - Last Updated Tuesday, 11 June 2013 18:04

Athlete of the Year - Kayla Armstrong (CRX) Coaches of the Year - Linn-Mar staff

First Team Kayla Armstrong (CRX) Sammi Shepard (CRX) Monica Busse (CRX) Olivia Garcia (LM) Jensen Sevening (LM) Malory Garman (LM) Sophie Perez (CF) Laura Schwickerath (CF) Lauryn Kramer (CF) Katie Kigin (CRW) Sarah Keppler (CRW) Tori Ochs (DW) Mackenzie Serbousek (CRP) Keeper - Rylie Frese (LM)

Second Team Lizzy McWhinney (CRX) Marisa Berutti (CRX) Lucy Martin (CRX) Madison Scheldrup (LM) Claire Larson (LM) Emily Menges (LM) Mariam Bartlett (CF) Alexa Rabune (CF) Annee Cooper (CRW) Hanna Burmeier (DW) Maddie Heiar (DW) Alisa Weiland (CRP) Whitney Smith (WW) Keeper - Cait Dolehide

Honorable Mention (Metro only) CRX - Grace McDermott, Brylee Bastain, Sarah Chicchelly LM - Caitlyn Swenson, Brooke Roberts CRW - MJ Kamin, Lydia Kratovil CRP - Hayley Moyle, Meleah Baloch

All Academic (Metro only) CRP - Aminah Baloch, Alexis Leggatt CRW - Catheryn Cooper, Sarah Keppler CRX - Sarah Dickes, Monica Busse LM - Molly Brandt, Emily Soyer

**MISSISSIPPI DIVISION** 

Athlete of the Year - Tory Harman (CRK) Coaches of the Year - Iowa City High staff

First Team Alli Peterson (ICW) Payton Pottratz (ICW) Beth Crow (ICW) Tory Harman (CRK) Kaela Dickerman (CRK) Jordan Holmes (CRK) Allison Bitter (DH) Devan Stieber (DH) Madison Astgen (DH) Sam Blowers (ICH) Ashley Smith (ICH) Shalyn Kinney (CRJ) Ellie Peterson (DS) Keeper - Jayne Heinrich (ICW)

Second Team Suzanne Moore (ICW) Anna Hausler (ICW) Eleni Katz (ICW) Mackenzie Stump (CRK) Emily Feltes (CRK) Carly Langhurst (CRK) Brie Burkart (DH) Alesha Duccini (DH) Erin Danielson (ICH) Maddie Schroder (ICH)

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 10 June 2013 18:34 - Last Updated Tuesday, 11 June 2013 18:04

Haley Murray (CRJ) Erica Tebon (DS) Gabby Larson (WE) Keeper - Shelby Scales (DH)

Honorable Mention (Metro only) CRK - Annie Feltes, Alyssa Drewelow CRJ - Taylor Miller, Maddy Webber

All-Academic (Metro only) CRJ - Brooke Barnhart, Cara Voll CRK - Tory Harman, Mackenzie Stump