Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 02 March 2011 17:52 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:05

Jefferson's Jarrod Uthoff has been named Player of the Year in the Valley Division and Washington's Josh Oglesby and Linn-Mar's Marcus Paige share the same honor in the Mississippi Division on the Mississippi Valley Conference boys basketball all-conference teams.

Uthoff, a senior headed for Wisconsin, leads the state in scoring with a 26.2 average and also averages 11.2 rebounds per game. He has the J-Hawks headed back to the state tournament for a second straight year.

Oglesby, a senior who will play for the Iowa Hawkeyes, is the Class 4A second-ranked scorer in the state with a 21.4 average. He and senior teammate Wes Washpun, a first team Mississippi Division selection, have guided the Warriors back to the state tournament for a second straight season.

Paige, a junior who has committed to play for Coach Roy Williams and the North Carolina Tar Heels, is Linn-Mar's floor leader at point guard. He is a silky smooth shooter with a soft touch and a deft passer. He leads the top-ranked and undefeated Lions in scoring with a 17.7 average, and is shooting just over 50 percent from 3-point range. The Lions are making their eighth straight state tournament appearance and bidding for their third title in that span.

Metro athletes occupy seven of the 14 first team positions. Linn-Mar senior Matt Bohannon joins Paige, Oglesby, Washpun and Kennedy senior Kyle Lamaak are on the Mississippi Division first team. Jefferson junior Taylor Olson joins Uthoff on the Valley Division first team.

There are eight Metro athletes on the second teams. Linn-Mar has two, seniors Shane Benton and Josh Montague; Kennedy two, seniors Christian French and Jake Manning; and Xavier two, juniors Kevin Hosch and Ben McDermott. Jefferon senior Tyler Meiborg and Prairie junior Matt MacDougall also are on the second teams.

Linn-Mar's Chris Robertson is the Mississippi Division Coach of the Year. Cedar Falls' Tom Bardal earned the same honor in the Valley Division.

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 02 March 2011 17:52 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:05

MVC ALL-CONFERENCE TEAMS

(*-Unanimous selections)

Mississippi Division

First team

*Matt Bohannon, Linn-Mar, 6-4, sr. Kyle Lamaak, Kennedy, 6-4, sr. *Josh Oglesby, Washington, 6-6, sr. *Marcus Paige, Linn-Mar, 6-1, jr. Aaron Shueller, Wahlert, 5-11, sr. Wes Washpun, Washington, 6-1, sr. Josh Weeber, Dubuque Sr., 6-5, soph.

Second team

Shane Benton, Linn-Mar, 6-3, sr.
Christian French, Kennedy, 6-5, sr.
Dale Jones, Waterloo West, 6-5, jr.
Jake Manning, Kennedy, 6-5, sr.
Jake May, Wahlert, 6-1, jr.
Josh Montague, Linn-Mar, 6-7, sr.
Trent Washington, Waterloo West, 5-11, sr.

Honorable Mention (Metro only)

Kennedy -- Joe Coleman, Jake Misener

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 02 March 2011 17:52 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:05

Washington -- Sean Bredl, Cyb Moa Linn-Mar -- Ian McBrayer, Michael Thul

Athletes of the Year -- Josh Oglesby, Washington; Marcus Paige, Linn-Mar Coach of the Year -- Chris Robertson, Linn-Mar

Valley Division

First team

Dondre Alexander, IC West, 6-2, soph. *James Harrington, Cedar Falls, 6-0, jr. *Gage Heffernan, Hempstead, 6-4, sr. Caleb Konieczny, Cedar Falls, 6-0, jr. Jeremy Morgan, IC West, 6-4, soph. Taylor Olson, Jefferson, 6-0, jr. *Jarrod Uthoff, Jefferson, 6-8, sr.

Second team

Brad Duwe, Hempstead, 6-0, sr. Kevin Hosch, Xavier, 6-4, jr. Tony Johnson, Cedar Falls, 6-3, jr. Matt MacDougall, Prairie, 6-3, jr. Ben McDermott, Xavier, 6-0, jr. Tyler Meiborg, Jefferson, 6-0, sr. Okechukwu Ukah, IC West, 6-5, sr.

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 02 March 2011 17:52 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:05

Honorable Mention (Metro only)

Jefferson -- Ky Kramer, Alec Saunders Prairie -- Jacob Aune, Matthew Jantzen Xavier -- Mitch McLaughlin, Carter Valentine

Athlete of the Year -- Jarrod Uthoff, Jefferson Coach of the Year -- Tom Bardal, Cedar Falls

ACADEMIC ALL-CONFERENCE (Metro only)

Kennedy -- Shane Goodall, Jake Manning Washington -- Sean Bredl, Trent Hoekstra Linn-Mar -- Shane Benton, Nick Soyer Jefferson -- Michael Rooney, Taylor Steckler, Jarrod Uthoff Prairie -- Chaz Boots, Matt Jantzen Xavier -- Rayn Mains, Mitch McLaughlin