Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 01:06 -

Paul James has been named the Valley Division Coach of the Year in the Mississippi Valley Conference for coming out of retirement this year and leading a troubled program to a 6-4 record and a berth in the Class 4A playoffs.

James and his assistant coaches shared the award, the league announced Tuesday.

A total of 26 Metro players were named first team all-conference, as selected by the league's coaches. The Xavier Saints led the way with six first-team picks. Washington and Prairie claimed five first-team berths, Kennedy nabbed four spots, Linn-Mar had three selections and Jefferson had three selections.

Five of Xavier's first-team picks came from the defensive unit, which has pitched seven shutouts in 11 games. Matt Nelson, Daniel Vega, Sean Ickes, Logan Clarahan and Miles Sullivan made the top unit for the Saints in the Valley Division. They were joined by placekicker Ryan Persick.

Reid Snitker and Clayton Bjornsen from Washington were first-team selections on offense in the Valley Division. Jacob Bjornsen, Royal Silver and Conner Vincent were first-team choices on defense for the Warriors.

Bryce Meeker and Mitch Christensen from Prairie were first-team picks on offense in the Valley Division. Tristan Beyer and Jesse Vizzini from Prairie made the No.1 unit on defense and JoJo Simpson was named the first-team punter.

Ryan Schmidt and Griffin Brennecke of Linn-Mar were named first team all-conference in the Valley Division on offense. Andrew Holladay of Linn-Mar made the squad on defense.

Austin Holzer, Miles Moa and Drew Heitland from Kennedy were first-team selections on offense in the Mississippi Division. Terrance Hall of Kennedy made the squad on defense.

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 01:06 -

Layne Sullivan of Jefferson was honored on the first-team offense in the Mississippi Division. Michael Smith III of Jefferson made the team on defense and Nick Rocha was named the first-team placekicker.

ALL-MVC FOOTBALL

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team Offense

Reid Snitker (CRW), Clayton Bjornsen (CRW), Bryce Meeker (CRP), Mitch Christensen (CRP), Ross Pierschbacher (CF), Gabe Clark (CF), Lance Dunn (WW), Alex Young (WW), Ryan Schmidt (LM), Griffin Brennecke (LM), Riley Hasken (DW).

First Team Defense

Jacob Bjornsen (CRW), Royal Silver (CRW), Connor Vincent (CRW), Matt Nelson (CRX), Daniel Vega (CRX), Sean Ickes (CRX), Logan Clarahan (CRX), Miles Sullivan (CRX), Tristan Beyer (CRP), Jesse Vizzini (CRP), Alex Gary (CF), Blake Thomas (WW), Andrew Holladay (LM).

Athlete of the Year - Alex Young (WW) Coach of the Year - Paul James (CRW) and staff Punter - JoJo Simpson (CRP) Placekicker - Ryan Persick (CRX)

Second Team Offense Julian Good-Jones (CRW), Landen Akers (CRW), Cole Turner (CRX), Brendan Miller (CRX), Jesse Hynek (CRP), Eli Berregaard (CF), Nicholas Sutton (WW), Benjamin Russell (WW), Jon Schlotterback (LM), Austin Wolter (LM).

Second Team Defense

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 01:06 -

Noah Fox (CRW), Isaiah Nimmers (CRW), Hunter Baldus (CRX), Wes Gardner (CRX), JoJo Simpson (CRP), Mitch Dellamuth (CRP), Michael Kuntz (CF), Jarvay Clark (CF), Kyler Mathews (WW), Andrew Gassman (LM), Jacob Bohr (DW), Zach Kapler (DW).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Kyle Malcolm (CRW), Kaine Cooks (CRW), Sam Vincent (CRW), Mike Eken (CRW), Max Podgorski (CRW), Bryce Grimm (CRX), Nic Ekland (CRX), Quinton Scholer (CRX), Andrew Khairallah (CRX), Nick Drahozal (CRX), Marquan Wilder (CRP), Ben Boldt (CRP), Joe Landon (CRP), Kentral Smith (CRP), Trey Beckman (CRP), Ross Lembeck (LM), Tylor Newhouse (LM), Logan Benter (LM), Matt Ramsey (LM), Kyle Hayek (LM).

All-Academic Metro Only Clayton Bjornsen (CRW), Jacob Bjornsen (CRW), Mike Eken (CRW), Kyle Malcolm (CRW), Hunter Hayes (CRX), Quinton Scholer (CRX), Mitch Dellamuth (CRP), Jesse Hynek (CRP), Jon Schlotterback (LM), Matt Ramsey (LM).

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team Offense

Joel Reynolds (ICH), Xavier Washpun (ICH), Mitch Wieland (ICH), Zak Ranshaw (ICW), Devin Raffensperger (ICW), Nate Boland (ICW), Anthony Batie (ICW), Austin Holzer (CRK), Miles Moa (CRK), Drew Heitland (CRK), Morgan Paca (DH), Matt Zenner (DH), Lucas LeGrand (DS), Layne Sullivan (CRJ), Javon Middleton (WE).

First Team Defense Jake Leohr (ICH), Ivan Diaz (ICH), Micah Kelsay (ICW), Terrance Hall (CRK), Chris Tomkins (DH), Chris Poynter (DS), Brook Anderson (DS), Michael Smith III (CRJ).

Athlete of the Year - Nate Boland (ICW) Coach of the Year - Bob McIntyre (DH) and Brian Sauser (ICW) and staffs Punter - Jake Leohr (ICH) Placekicker - Nick Rocha (CRJ)

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 06 November 2013 01:06 -

Second Team Offense Eric McDonald (ICH), Aydan Wynos (ICW), Conner Greene (ICW), Alex Steffes (CRK), Tyler Dieters (DH), Parker Hammel (DS), Dalton Kuehl (CRJ), John Magnuson (WE).

Second Team Defense Matt Kroeze (ICH), Conner Danielson (ICH), Jason Jones (ICH), Tyler Eads (ICW), John Milani (ICW), Prince Kollie (CRK), Jordan Lunsford (CRK), Blake Thurston (DH), Carter Daack (DH), Tyler George (DS), Jared Schulz (DS), Brandon Wiederin (CRJ), James Carter III (WE).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Seth Gilmore (CRK), Derek Jacobus (CRK), Famiek Cook (CRK), Triston Christopher (CRK), Drake Zabloudil (CRK), Joshua Allen (CRJ), Ben Baxter (CRJ), Kelly May (CRJ), Will Orr (CRJ), Cam Frazier (CRJ).

All-Academic Metro Only Austin Holzer (CRK), Nathan Althoff (CRK), Layne Sullivan (CRJ), Colton Cortez (CRJ).