Franklin leads Valley Division all-stars

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 26 February 2014 14:59 -

Dani Franklin of Cedar Rapids Washington has been selected as the Athlete of the Year in the Valley Division of the Mississippi Valley Conference in girls basketball.

Haley Lorenzen of Iowa City High was named the Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Division.

Franklin, Katie Sommer of Linn-Mar, Aleena Hobbs of Washington, Blaire Thomas of Waterloo West and Haley Puk of Waterloo West were unanimous first-team choices in the Valley Division. They were joined on the top squad by Cyerra Hutchins of Prairie, Hayley Deutmeyer of Xavier and Madison Wood of Cedar Falls.

Amanda Ollinger of Jefferson, Morgan Martin of Kennedy, Kiera Washpun of Iowa City High, Mikaela Morgan of Iowa City West and Lorenzen were unanimous picks in the Mississippi Division.

Frank Howell of Washington was named the Valley Division Coach of the Year.

ALL-MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE

VALLEY DIVISION

First Team

Dani Franklin (Washington), Blaire Thomas (Waterloo West), Katie Sommer (Linn-Mar), Haley Puk (Waterloo West), Aleena Hobbs (Washington), Madison Wood (Cedar Falls), Cyerra Hutchins (Prairie), Hayley Deutmeyer (Xavier).

Second Team

Ana Schmitt (Wahlert), Kristie Sommer (Linn-Mar), Sammie Sproul (Waterloo West), Kate Letkewicz (Waterloo West), Emma Gerdes (Cedar Falls), Madison Dellamuth (Prairie), Jade

Franklin leads Valley Division all-stars

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 26 February 2014 14:59 -

Lynch (Wahlert).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Prairie - Emilie Rotter, Olivia Usher Washington - Kandis O'Donnell, Anne Visser Xavier - Morgan Breitbach, Maddie Bertsch Linn-Mar - Aryn Jones, Olivia Montague

All-Academic Metro Only Prairie - Madison Dellamuth, Cyerra Hutchins Washington - MJ Kamin, Sophia Ochs Xavier - Abby Watson, Maddie Bertsch Linn-Mar - Taylor Robertson, Emily Makinster

Athlete of the Year - Dani Franklin, Washington. Coach of the Year - Frank Howell, Washington.

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

First Team

Amanda Ollinger (Jefferson), Morgan Martin (Kennedy), Haley Lorenzen (Iowa City High), Kiera Washpun (Iowa City High), Mikaela Morgan (Iowa City West), Ashley Dolan (Hempstead), Courtney Joens (Iowa City High).

Second Team

Kennedy Dighton (Jefferson), Stephanie Botkin (Kennedy), Paige Hendrickson (Kennedy), Grace Tafolla (Iowa City West), Emma Noel (Dubuque Senior), Savannah Frye (Dubuque Senior), Maddy Blietz (Jefferson).

Honorable Mention Metro Only Jefferson - Avery Guy, Samantha Kitterman

Franklin leads Valley Division all-stars

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 26 February 2014 14:59 -

Kennedy - Jordan Holmes, Madi Meier

All-Academic Metro Only Jefferson - Maddy Blietz, Autume Starks Kennedy - Alli Nemecek, Morgan Martin

Athlete of the Year - Haley Lorenzen, Iowa City High Coach of the Year - Bill McTaggart, Iowa City High