Botkin tops all-Metro basketball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 25 February 2015 16:57 -

Stephanie Botkin of Kennedy has been named the Athlete of the Year on the all-Metro girls basketball team.

Botkin, a senior, helped the Cougars reach the regional finals of the Class 5A postseason tournament.

Kandis O'Donnell of Washington, Lela Sellers of Kennedy, Kennedy Dighton of Jefferson, Morgan Breitbach of Xavier, Amanda Ollinger of Linn-Mar and Chloe Rice of Marion joined Botkin on the first team.

Corby Laube of Marion was named the Metro Coach of the Year.

ALL-METRO GIRLS BASKETBALL First Team

Kandis O'Donnell (Washington), Stephanie Botkin (Kennedy), Lela Sellers (Kennedy), Kennedy Dighton (Jefferson), Morgan Breitbach (Xavier), Amanda Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Chloe Rice (Marion).

Second Team

Emily Rotter (Prairie), Joniqua Clark (Washington), Sydney Hayden (Kennedy), Kylie Wise (Jefferson), Lizzy Bailey (Xavier), Olivia Montague (Linn-Mar), Amanda Sahm (Marion), Michalyn Mohr (Marion).

Honorable Mention

Mia Laube (Marion), Caitlyn Smith (Marion), Kamryn Finley (Linn-Mar), Nikita Sharma

Botkin tops all-Metro basketball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Wednesday, 25 February 2015 16:57 -

(Linn-Mar), McKenna Andersen (Xavier), Amelia Ivester (Xavier), Samantha Kitterman (Jefferson), Avery Guy (Jefferson), Abby Hellweg (Kennedy), Linden Runels (Kennedy), Anne Visser (Washington), Courtney Squires (Washington), Halle Person (Prairie), Olivia Usher (Prairie).

Coach of the Year - Corby Laube (Marion)

Athlete of the Year - Stephanie Botkin (Kennedy)