MVC tennis honor for Kennedy's Galbraith

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 27 May 2011 15:20 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:04

Kennedy junior Riley Galbraith, who played both tennis and soccer for the Cougars this spring, has been named the Mississippi Division tennis Athlete of the Year in the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Galbraith was joined on the Mississippi Division first team by Washington senior Charlie Hammond, Linn-Mar junior Tyler McCann and freshman Brady Anderson, and Dubuque Wahlert's Jon Moore and Brandon Schneider. Galbraith, McCann, Anderson and Moore were unanimous selections.

Two Metro players were named to the Valley Division first team: Xavier junior Noah Schmall and Jefferson junior Eddie Segarra. They were joined by Iowa City West sophomore Kyle Appel and freshman Blake Oetting, Hempstead juniro Nick Johnson and Cedar Falls soph Roy Ju. Appel, Oetting, Johnson and Ju were unanimous selections. Appel was the Valley Division Athlete of the Year.

Linn-Mar's Chris Wundram and Iowa City West's Mitch Gross were named coaches of the year in their respective divisions.

2010-11 MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE All-Conference Men's Tennis (* -- unanimous selections)

Mississippi Division

First Team

- *Brady Anderson, Linn-Mar
- *Riley Galbraith, Kennedy

Charlie Hammond, Washington

- *Tyler McCann, Linn-Mar
- *Jon Moore, Wahlert

Brandon Schneider, Wahlert

Second Team

Mitch Blades, Washington; Dillon Einck, Linn-Mar; Ethan Gascho, Kennedy; Gabe Mozena, Dubuque Senior; Tom Runde, Wahlert; Gavin Young, Linn-Mar

Honorable Mention

Bryce Blomberg, Kennedy; Robert Sweet, Kennedy; Mitch Anderson, Washington; Clayton Hoyt, Washington; Travis Busch, Dubuque Senior; CJ Riedl, Dubuque Senior; Buddy Franson, Wahlert; Joey Ottavi, Wahlert; Noah Danielsen, Iowa City High; Wes Steffen, Iowa City High; Scott Kleymann, Linn-Mar; Blake Young, Linn-Mar; Evan McClain, Waterloo West; Armin Muhamedagic, Waterloo West

Athlete of the Year

MVC tennis honor for Kennedy's Galbraith

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 27 May 2011 15:20 - Last Updated Monday, 06 June 2011 02:04

Riley Galbraith, Kennedy

Coach of the Year Chris Wundram, Linn-Mar

Valley Division

First Division

- *Kyle Appel, Iowa City West
- *Nick Johnson, Hempstead
- *Roy Ju, Cedar Falls
- *Blake Oetting, Iowa City West

Noah Schmall, Xavier

Eddie Segarra, Jefferson

Second Team

Jimmy Deignan, Xavier; Adam Dellos, Iowa City West; Jacob Donald, Jefferson; Rex Ju, Cedar Falls; Kyle Suther, Prairie; Jeff Teng, Hempstead; Karl Wenzel, Iowa City West

Honorable Mention

Brennan Ashwood, Cedar Falls; Louis Redfern, Cedar Falls; Daniel Britton, Jefferson; Andrew Miller, Jefferson; Jeremy Cline, Prairie; Kevin LeCaptain, Prairie; Alex Gerleman, Xavier; Chris Petersen, Xavier; Josh Achtemeier, Hempstead; Zach Wilming, Hempstead; Adam Boldt, Iowa City West; Ben Dellos, Iowa City West; Ryan Gilbert, Waterloo East; Lucas Pietan, Waterloo East

Athlete of the Year Kyle Appel, Iowa City West

Coach of the Year Mitch Gross, Iowa City West