Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 20:46 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:03

Kennedy senior Austin Christensen and Prairie senior DJ Utley were named baseball Athletes of the Year in their respective divisions of the Mississippi Valley Conference.

Christensen won the honor in the Mississippi Division, Utley in the Valley Division.

Kennedy, which won the Mississippi Division by a game over Dubuque Wahlert, had three players named to the division first team. Joining Christensen are senior second baseman Terrell Sykes and junior third baseman Devon Jacobus. Washington had two players on the first team, senior outfielder Jordy Brown and sophomore first baseman AJ Puk.

Linn-Mar did not have any players on the first team, but had three on the second team: sophomore pitcher Nate Greve, senior shortstop Ben Larison and junior outfielder Michael Redmond. Kennedy also had three players on the second team: senior pitcher Griffin Michael, junior first baseman Cody Bell and senior outfielder David Yancey.

Prairie had four players on the Valley Division first team. Joining Utley are senior pitcher Anthony Gagliardi, senior catcher Dustin Carlson and junior infielder Brayton Carlson.

Xavier and Jefferson had two players apiece on the first team. Xavier's players are senior pitcher Ean McNeal and junior utility man Mack Mattke, a slugging first baseman and pitcher. Jefferson's players are senior second baseman Tanner Unkel and senior outfielder Michael Rooney.

Xavier had three players on the second team: senior pitcher Dane Mehring, senior catcher Colby Brecht and sophomore third baseman Corbin Woods. Prairie had two second teamers: senior outfielder Chaz Boots and sophomore utility man Brennan Hammer.

Coaches of the Year were Bret Hoyer and the Kennedy staff in the Mississippi Division and Charlie Stumpff and the Iowa City West staff in the Valley Division.

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 20:46 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:03

2011 MISSISSIPPI VALLEY CONFERENCE BASEBALL ALL-CONFERENCE (* - Unanimous selections)

VALLEY DIVISION

FIRST TEAM

P - *Ean McNeal, Xavier

P - Anthony Gagliardi. Prairie

C - *Dustin Carlson, Prairie

1B - *DJ Utley, Prairie

IF - *Brayton Carlson, Prairie

IF - *Ryan Rumpf, Iowa City West

IF - Tanner Unkel, Jefferson

OF - *Michael Rooney, Jefferson

OF - *Adam Kennedy, Hempstead

OF - *Aaron Peller, Iowa City West

UTIL - *Jeremy Cronk, Iowa City West

UTIL - Mack Mattke, Xavier

SECOND TEAM

P - Dane Mehring, Xavier; Will Ross, Iowa City West

C - Colby Brecht, Xavier

1B - Spence Bonner, Iowa City West

IF - Leo Franz, Iowa City West; Corbin Woods, Xavier; Shawn Hagerty, Cedar Falls

OF - Jake Gallu, Cedar Falls; Chaz Boots, Prairie; Ryan Siems, Iowa City West

UTIL - Brad Duwe, Hempstead; Brennan Hammer, Prairie

HONORABLE MENTION

Prairie - Ty Mougin, Tyler Butz Jefferson - Alex Larson, Bailey Hollingsworth Xavier - Nate Even, Blake Helms Iowa City West - Luke Crimmins, Nate Ewing Hempstead - Sean Fitzgerald, Cody Leach Waterloo East - Colton Rathe, Nate Sahr Cedar Falls - JT Sole, Andy Kloos

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 20:46 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:03

Valley Division Athlete of the Year - DJ Utley, Prairie

Coaching staff of the Year - Charlie Stumpff and Iowa City West

MISSISSIPPI DIVISION

FIRST TEAM

- P Zach Brautigam, Wahlert
- P Connor Alberhasky, Iowa City High
- C *JJ Reimer, Wahlert
- 1B Adam Prybil, Iowa City High
- IF *Terrell Sykes, Kennedy
- IF *Devon Jacobus, Kennedy
- IF *Riley McCarron, Wahlert
- OF *Austin Christensen, Kennedy
- OF Jordy Brown, Washington
- OF Ryan Jantsch, Dubuque Senior
- UTIL AJ Puk, Washington
- UTIL Jack Hoffmann, Wahlert

SECOND TEAM

- P Griffin Michael, Kennedy; Nate Greve, Linn-Mar
- C Zach Fricke, Waterloo West
- 1B Cody Bell, Kennedy
- IF Connor Grant, Dubuque Senior; Ben Larison, Linn-Mar; Brent Hamm, Iowa City High
- OF David Yancey, Kennedy; Ryan Duncan, Iowa City High; Michael Redmond, Linn-Mar
- UTIL Derick Vaughn, Waterloo West; Alex Steines, Dubuque Senior

HONORABLE MENTION

Wahlert - Aaron Holmes, Tanner Denlinger Dubuque Senior - Dylan Merritt, David Janes Waterloo West - Conrad Bush, Ben Stokes Kennedy - Alex Hayden, Austin Benson Washington - Cole Rhatigan, Sam Kacena

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 23 July 2011 20:46 - Last Updated Sunday, 24 July 2011 00:03

Iowa City High - Sam Mrstik, Josh Crosby Linn-Mar - Jake Stolley, Jeremy Danover

Mississippi Division Athlete of the Year - Austin Christensen, Kennedy

Coaching staff of the Year - Bret Hoyer and Kennedy