Hansen tops all-Metro softball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 16:29 -

Cedar Rapids Jefferson catcher Maddie Hansen has been named the Athlete of the Year on the All-Metro Softball Team, it was announced Monday.

Jefferson and Prairie, both headed to the state tournament this week, both had three first-team selections.

Hansen, Kaitlyn Davidson and Alyssa Olson were honored from Jefferson. Katie Kuch, Gabi Carter and Mallory Jones were honored from Prairie.

Sydney Galligan and Erin Drahozal were named first team all-Metro from Xavier. Alexis Kelsey of Linn-Mar, Bria Lenten of Washington, Ashley Hamilton of Kennedy and Beth Knapp of Marion also made the first team.

Xavier Coach Nikki Price and her assistants were named the Metro Staff of the Year.

FIRST TEAM

Sydney Galligan (Xavier), Erin Drahozal (Xavier), Maddie Hansen (Jefferson), Kaitlyn Davidson (Jefferson), Alyssa Olson (Jefferson), Katie Kuch (Prairie), Gabi Carter (Prairie), Mallory Jones (Prairie), Alexis Kelsey (Linn-Mar), Bria Lenten (Washington), Ashley Hamilton (Kennedy), Beth Knapp (Marion).

SECOND TEAM

Hansen tops all-Metro softball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 22 July 2013 16:29 -

Allison Schwach (Xavier), Jenna Schulte (Xavier), Courtney Colson (Xavier), Dani Stromert (Jefferson), Maddie Koolbeck (Jefferson), Malia Gudenkauf (Prairie), Natalie Rumer (Prairie), Maddy Ryan (Linn-Mar), Kortlan Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Tianna Drahn (Kennedy), Lauren Kubovec (Kennedy), Payton Bruner (Washington), Michalyn Mohr (Marion).

HONORABLE MENTION

Hayley Deutmeyer (Xavier), Erica Miller (Xavier), Erin Kuba (Jefferson), Amber Grimm (Jefferson), Heather McKinnon (Kennedy), Tanner Rathjens (Kennedy), Emily Oler (Washington), Caiti Peterson (Washington), Brittney Lash (Prairie), Aly O'Brian (Prairie), Lauren Rausch (Marion), Paige Perkins (Marion), Elison Ollinger (Linn-Mar), Kelsey Duggan (Linn-Mar).