Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 04 January 2014 18:25

BETTENDORF - Cedar Rapids Prairie put five wrestlers in the finals and Josh Wenger claimed the 138-pound title to lead the Hawks to the championship of the Mike Hall Invitational Saturday at Pleasant Valley High School.

Prairie beat Washington, Ill., by 23 points. Millard South, Neb., was third.

Cedar Rapids Jefferson crowned a champion in Brenden Baker at 106 pounds and the J-Hawks finished sixth in the 16-team field.

Sam Uthoff (120), Trey Blaha (152), Skyler St. John (160) and Jesse Hynek (195) finished second for Prairie. Zack Fiser (126) claimed third.

Jefferson's Tavian Rashed was second at 145 and Josh Allen was third at 182.

MIKE HALL INVITATIONAL

Team Scores

1. CR Prairie 204.5, 2. Washington, Ill. 181.5, 3. Millard South, Neb. 173, 4. Pleasant Valley 160.5, 5. Wilton 148.5, 6. CR Jefferson 126, 7. Yorkville, Ill. 105.5, 8. Dallas Center-Grimes 89, 9. Burlington 78.5, 10. Wheaton-Warrenville South, Ill. 64, 11. Downers Grove South, Ill. 63, 12. Solon 62.5, 13. Wapello 49.5, 14. West Hancock, Ill. 47, 15. Davenport West 21, 16. Muscatine 14

Championship Bouts

- 106 Brenden Baker (Cedar Rapids Jefferson) dec. Dack Punke (Washington), 3-0
- 113 Ethan Reel (Washington) dec. Will Lucie (West Hancock), 4-2

120 - Trevor Murano (Dallas Center-Grimes) major dec. Sam Uthoff (Cedar Rapids Prairie), 13-3

- 126 Brady Ruden (Wilton) major dec. Spencer Nevills (Pleasant Valley), 11-2
- 132 Logan Mays (Wilton) pinned Jack Lucie (West Hancock), 1:55
- 138 Josh Wenger (Cedar Rapids Prairie) dec. Isaac DeLoa (Millard South), 7-3
- 145 Alex Mendez (Millard South) dec. Tavian Rashed (Cedar Rapids Jefferson), 7-6
- 152 Travis Willers (Pleasant Valley) dec. Trey Blaha (Cedar Rapids Prairie), 4-2
- 160 Jacob Warner (Washington) dec. Skyler St. John (Cedar Rapids Prairie), 6-5

J-Hawks 6th at PV mat meet

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 04 January 2014 18:25

170 - Brady Letney (Pleasant Valley) pinned Blake Wolinski (Dallas Center-Grimes), 2:23

182 - Colin Carr (Washington) dec. Anthony Cloyd (Millard South), 8-3

195 - Joe Picchiotti (Pleasant Valley) dec. Jesse Hynek (Cedar Rapids Prairie), 6-3

220 - Lance Evans (Solon) dec. Mark Tompsett (Millard South), 8-2

285 - Ryley Howell (Wapello) dec. Terry Jeub (Millard South), 3-1

Prairie Place Winners Top 6 1st - Josh Wenger (138) 2nd - Sam Uthoff (120) 2nd - Trey Blaha (152) 2nd - Skyler St. John (160) 2nd - Jesse Hynek (195) 3rd - Zack Fiser (126) 5th - Jarod Cadena (182) 6th - Marcus England (106) 6th - Seth Wennermark (132) 6th - Nick Hogan (170) 6th - Jonah Manson (220) **Jefferson Place Winners** Top 6 1st - Brenden Baker (106) 2nd - Tavian Rashed (145) 3rd - Josh Allen (182) 4th - Kyle Briggs (120) 5th - Patrick Rashed (126) 5th - Luke Sedlacek (160) 6th - Kelly May (152)