Petersen tops all-Metro softball team

Written by Metro Sports Report Friday, 13 July 2012 12:55

Cedar Rapids Jefferson pitcher Hannah Petersen has been named the Athlete of the Year on the All-Metro Softball Team, as selected by Metro coaches.

Petersen, Rachel Sedlacek of Jefferson and Beth Knapp of Marion were unanimous selections on the All-Metro first team.

They were joined on the first unit by Carson Burgart (Jefferson), Amanda Gaffey (Kennedy), Kelsey Duggan (Linn-Mar), Sydney Galligan (Xavier), Bria Lenten (Washington), Maggie Rizor (Linn-Mar), Gabi Carter (Prairie), Alexis Kelsey (Linn-Mar) and Michalyn Mohr (Marion).

Jefferson Coach Larry Niemeyer and his son, Nick, were named the Staff of the Year.

FIRST TEAM

Rachel Sedlacek (Jefferson), Hannah Petersen (Jefferson), Beth Knapp (Marion), Carson Burgart (Jefferson), Amanda Gaffey (Kennedy), Kelsey Duggan (Linn-Mar), Sydney Galligan (Xavier), Bria Lenten (Washington), Maggie Rizor (Linn-Mar), Gabi Carter (Prairie), Alexis Kelsey (Linn-Mar), Michalyn Mohr (Marion).

SECOND TEAM

Kailey Drake (Jefferson), Kenna Fry (Jefferson), Brittney Lash (Prairie), Paige Perkins (Marion), Kirsten Peterson (Washington), Jenna Schulte (Xavier), Brooke Stauffer (Jefferson), Taylor Wagner (Kennedy), Hannah Yearling (Linn-Mar), Allison Schwach (Xavier), Maddie Hansen (Jefferson), Peyton Baskerville (Kennedy), Amber Fiser (Marion).

HONORABLE MENTION

Kaitlyn Davidson (Jefferson), Hannah McInerney (Jefferson), Taylor Sohn (Kennedy), Maddy Crist (Kennedy), Aly O'Brian (Prairie), Katie Kuch (Prairie), Callie Cook (Washington), Caiti Peterson (Washington), Erin Drahozal (Xavier), Hayley Deutmeyer (Xavier), Maddy Ryan (Linn-Mar), Cheyenne Hansen (Linn-Mar), Allison Scott (Marion), Mikayla Goemaat (Marion).