St. John wins 145 title for Prairie at Geneseo

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 12 January 2013 21:07 -

GENESEO, III. - Skyler St. John won the 145-pound title at the Geneseo Invitational wrestling tournament to help the Prairie Hawks finish third in the team standings.

St. John defeated Corey Abernathy of Waverly-Shell Rock, 8-1, in the championship match of the 20-team tournament.

Waverly-Shell Rock captured the team title in a close battle with Bettendorf and Prairie. Waverly-Shell Rock finished with 193 points. Bettendorf nipped Prairie for second place by a half-point, 182 to 181.5.

Three Prairie wrestlers finished second in their weight class with Josh Wenger (126), Trey Blaha (138) and Andrew Netolicky (285) reaching the finals before falling.

Nolan Hromidko placed second at 106 pounds for the Kennedy Cougars, who finished 15th in the team standings.

The tournament featured teams from Iowa, Illinois and Wisconsin. Ranked wrestlers faced each other in 13 of the 14 championship bouts.

GENESEO INVITATIONAL

Team Standings

- 1. Waverly Shell Rock 193
- 2. Bettendorf 182
- 3. Cedar Rapids Prairie 181.5
- 4. North Scott 162.5
- 5. Pleasant Valley 143.5
- 6. Granite City 143
- 7. Geneseo 107
- 8. O'Fallon 103
- 9. Franklin 97
- 10. New Lenox Providence 92

St. John wins 145 title for Prairie at Geneseo

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 12 January 2013 21:07 -

- 11. Arrowhead 91.5
- 12. Mineral Point 74
- 13. Moline 56.5
- 14. Chatham Glenwood 49
- 15. Cedar Rapids Kennedy 46.5
- 16. Belvidere 34
- 17. Palos Hills Stagg 27
- 18. Chicago Heights Marian 22
- 19. Dixon 18
- 20. Normal Community 14

Championship Matches

- 106 Jack Wagner (BET) dec. Nolan Hromidko (CRK), 7-5
- 113 Ronald Trichie (NLP) dec. Paul Glynn (BET), 3-0
- 120 Sam Butler (CGL) dec. Jon Vilegran (OFA), 3-2
- 126 Fredy Stroker (BET) dec. Josh Wenger (CRP), 8-0
- 132 Andrew Crone (ARR) dec. Logan Ryan (BET), 5-2
- 138 Jacob Woodard (BET) dec. Trey Blaha (CRP), 7-3
- 145 Skyler St. John (CRP) dec. Corey Abernathy (WSR), 8-1
- 152 Spencer Derifield (WSR) dec. Mitch Berenz (ARR), 13-4
- 160 Izaak Miller (WSR) dec. Austin Metz (OFA), 2-1
- 170 Mitch Bowman (NS) dec. Brady Letney (PV), 7-2
- 182 Justin Krieter (NS) dec. Tyler Sexton (OFA), 6-2
- 195 Adam Walther (WSR) dec. Kyle Smith (FRA), 9-6
- 220 Kaleb Staack (WSR) dec. Cordell Eaton (NS), 9-5
- 285 Adarios Jones (MOL) dec. Andrew Netolicky (CRP), 5-2