## No Kernels picked for all-star team

Written by Metro Sports Report Monday, 24 August 2015 11:46 -

No players from the Cedar Rapids Kernels have been named to the Midwest League Postseason All-Star Team.

First Baseman/DH Ryan McBroom of Lansing was named the MWL Most Valuable Player and shortstop Gleyber Torres of South Bend was named the MWL Prospect of the Year. Quad Cities Manager Josh Bonifay was named the MWL Manager of the Year.

Peoria had three players on the squad while Lansing and Quad Cities each had two. The team was selected by the 16 Midwest League managers.

Here is the team:

First Base - Ryan McBroom (Lansing)

Second Base - Darren Seferina (Peoria)

Third Base - Nick Tanielu (Quad Cities)

Shortstop - Gleyber Torres (South Bend)

Outfield - Mike Gerber (West Michigan)

Outfield - Nick Torres (Fort Wayne)

Outfield - Alex Verdugo (Great Lakes)

Catcher - Jacob Nottingham (Quad Cities)

Designated Hitter - Ryan McBroom (Lansing)

RH Pitcher - Tyler Mahle (Dayton)

LH Pitcher - Austin Gomber (Peoria)

RH Reliever - Kyle Grana (Peoria)

LH Reliever - Zac Curtis (Kane County)