Uthoff picked for NeXt All-American Classic

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 19 March 2011 11:03 - Last Updated Saturday, 19 March 2011 11:28

Cedar Rapids Jefferson senior Jarrod Uthoff has been selected to play in the NeXt All-American Classic on Sunday, April 3, at the Sears Centre Arena in Hoffman Estates, Ill.

Uthoff is one of 24 players from across the nation to be selected, along with players from Arizona, Illinois, Missouri, California, Virginia, Indiana, Maryland, Alabama, Minnesota and Kentucky. There also is a player from Germany.

Uthoff, 6-foot-8, has been named Mr. Basketball and the Gatorade Player of the Year in Iowa this season. He led the state in scoring at 26.2 points and led Jefferson to the Class 4A state tournament.

Uthoff has signed with the University of Wisconsin. Two of his future Wisconsin teammates also have been chosen for the game with Frank Kaminsky, a 6-10 center from Lisle, III., and George Marshall, a 6-foot guard from Chicago.

The NeXt All-American Classic will be televised on the CBS College Sports Network at 2 p.m.

GOT NEXT TEAM

David Sobolewski, 6-1, Naperville, III. (Northwestern); Jahii Carson, 5-10, Phoenix (Arizona State); Macari Brooks, 6-3, Richton Park, III. (DePaul); Ben McLemore, 6-5, St. Louis (Kansas or Missouri); Jamie Crockett, 6-4, Crete, III. (DePaul); Charles McKinney, 6-5, Chicago (DePaul); Juan Anderson, 6-7, Castro Valley, Calif. (Marquette); Dorian Finney-Smith, 6-8, Portsmouth, Va. (Virginia Tech); Mike Shaw, 6-8, Chicago (Illinois); Norvel Pelle, 6-10, Los Angeles (St. John's); Michael

Chandler, 6-10, Indianapolis (Central Florida); Frank Kaminsky, 6-10, Lisle, III. (Wisconsin).

GOT NOW TEAM

Uthoff picked for NeXt All-American Classic

Written by Metro Sports Report Saturday, 19 March 2011 11:03 - Last Updated Saturday, 19 March 2011 11:28

George Marshall, 6-0, Chicago (Wisconsin); Phil Greene, 6-2, Chicago (St. John's); Nick Faust, 6-6, Baltimore (Maryland); Trevor Lacey, 6-4, Huntsville, Ala. (Kentucky, Alabama, Connecticut, Auburn); Joe Coleman, 6-4, Minneapolis (Minnesota); Rashawn McElrath, 6-6, Chicago (Undecided); Jarrod Uthoff, 6-8, Cedar Rapids (Wisconsin); DeAndre Daniels, 6-8, Los Angeles (Kansas, Kentucky, Duke, Florida); Martin Breunig, 6-9, Leverkusen, Germany (Maryland); Adjehi Baru, 6-9, Richmond, Va. (Charleston); Nnanna Egwu, 6-10, Chicago (Illinois); Zach Price, 6-10, Louisville, Ky. (Louisville).