Friday, January 30, 2015
THURSDAY'S SCOREBOARD - GIRLS BASKETBALL - Midland 59, Cedar Valley Christian 36 ... BOYS BASKETBALL - Midland 67, Cedar Valley Christian 44 ... HIGH SCHOOL WRESTLING - Linn-Mar 32, Kennedy 31 ... Linn-Mar 51, Cedar Falls 17 ... DeWitt Central 49, Marion 30 ... GIRLS BOWLING - Linn-Mar 2,505, Kennedy 2,415 ... BOYS BOWLING - Linn-Mar 3,202, Kennedy 3,120 ...
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Prairie Wrestling

Prairie - Wrestling

Prairie wrestlers whip Saints, Wahawks

The Prairie wrestling team crushed the competition with a pair of dual wins Tuesday at Prairie, beating Waterloo West 84-0 and Xavier 70-4.

Xavier beat Waterloo West 66-12.

Trenten Wennermark (113 pounds), Nick Hogan (170) and Jonah Manson (220) each recorded two pins for the Prairie Hawks.

Clint Lembeck had a pin and a major decision for the Saints.




Prairie - Wrestling

Prairie, Jefferson hosting regional duals

The Cedar Rapids Prairie and Jefferson wrestling teams will host Class 3A regional dual meet tournaments on Feb. 11 and the Linn-Mar Lions will be on the road in Bettendorf that night.

The Iowa High School Athletic Association expanded the regional tournament from 16 teams to 24 teams this year. The new format rewarded first-round byes to the top eight teams in the IWCOA rankings. Those eight teams will act as hosts and will wrestle in the regional finals that night, following a semifinal match between teams that are ranked anywhere from No. 9 to No. 24.

No. 14 Dubuque Hempstead and No. 21 Fort Madison will meet in the semifinals at Prairie, with the winner facing the No. 4 Prairie Hawks in the regional finals.

No. 12 Western Dubuque and No. 24 Ankeny Centennial will meet in the semifinals at Jefferson, with the winner facing the No. 7 Jefferson J-Hawks in the regional finals.



Prairie - Wrestling

Wenger helps Prairie pin Linn-Mar

Josh Wenger has enjoyed an extraordinary week with the Cedar Rapids Prairie wrestling team.

It began this past Saturday, when Wenger broke the school record for victories and helped the Hawks capture the Geneseo Invitational in Illinois.

On Monday, he visited Grand View University in Des Moines and accepted an offer to wrestle for the three-time defending NAIA champions next year as a freshman in college.

On Thursday night, he collected a technical fall to help the fourth-ranked Hawks flatten No. 16 Linn-Mar, 52-22, in a Mississippi Valley Conference meet in the Linn-Mar gym.

Last Updated on Thursday, 22 January 2015 23:03



Prairie - Wrestling

Prairie matmen ranked 4th by IWCOA

Cedar Rapids Prairie is ranked fourth in Class 3A in the new dual meet rankings by the Iowa Wrestling Coaches Association (IWCOA).

Cedar Rapids Jefferson is ranked seventh and Linn-Mar is 16th.

The top 24 teams will compete in the dual meet regional tournament on Feb. 11, based on new rankings at that time with the top eight teams receiving byes. The top eight teams will host a one-night regional, facing the winner of a match between two lower seeds The eight regional winners will advance to the state dual meet tournament in Des Moines on Feb. 18.

Through Jan. 21

1. Southeast Polk (17-0), 2. Bettendorf (15-3), 3. Johnston (20-2), 4. Prairie (17-4), 5. West Des Moines Valley (15-2), 6. Dowling (11-3), 7. Jefferson (9-4), 8. North Scott (17-7), 9. Iowa City West (14-7), 10. Sioux City North (18-1).

11. Fort Dodge (5-4), 12. Western Dubuque (22-8), 13. Norwalk (16-2) 14. Hempstead (13-5), 15. Waverly-Shell Rock (7-6), 16. Linn-Mar (17-12), 17. Council Bluffs Jefferson (11-2), 18. Lewis Central (14-9), 19. Pleasant Valley (14-16), 20. Glenwood (9-1).

21. Fort Madison (7-4), 22. Clinton (9-4), 23. LeMars (12-4), 24. Ankeny Centennial (5-6).

Last Updated on Friday, 23 January 2015 05:44

Prairie - Wrestling

Wenger powers Prairie to Geneseo title

GENESEO, Ill. – Josh Wenger broke the Prairie wrestling team’s all-time record for wins and was named Outstanding Wrestler of the lightweights to lead the Prairie Hawks to a first-place finish Saturday at the Geneseo Invitational.

Prairie scored 186½ points to win the 18-team tournament by 31 points. Kennedy was seventh with 114.

Wenger won the 138-pound title for Prairie and now has 152 wins in his career. Sam Uthoff won the 126 title for his 100th career win.

Last Updated on Saturday, 17 January 2015 22:57


  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!