Thursday, March 26, 2015
WEDNESDAY'S SCOREBOARD - COLLEGE BASEBALL - Mount Mercy at Clarke (2), ppd ... COLLEGE SOFTBALL - Kirkwood 18, Ellsworth 1 ... Kirkwood 23, Ellsworth 1 ... Mobile 12, Mount Mercy 4 ... Mobile 8, Mount Mercy 1 ...
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Prairie Boys Track

Prairie - Boys Track

VanDraska wins Metro Spotlight Award

Cedar Rapids Prairie junior Tysen VanDraska is the winner of the Metro Spotlight Award for high school boys this week, the Metro Sports Report announced Sunday.

VanDraska, one of the top distance runners in the state, has gotten off to a strong start this spring.

He finished second in the 1,600-meter run at the Iowa State Classic in Ames on Tuesday in 4 minutes, 25.6 seconds. Thomas Pollard of Gilbert nipped VanDraska in that race by 18-hundredths of a second in 4:25.42.



Prairie - Boys Track

VanDraska wins 3200 run in Pella

PELLA - Tysen VanDraska of Cedar Rapids Prairie captured the 3200 meter run in 10 minutes, 27.37 seconds at the Central College indoor track meet for high school boys Friday.

Eric Lenz of Tipton finished second in 10:29.15.

Isaiah Vlasek of Prairie placed third in the 1600 meter run in 4 minutes, 47.0 seconds. Mitch Pritts of Prairie was fourth in the same race in 4:47.59.


Prairie - Boys Track

VanDraska nipped by Pollard in Ames

AMES - Tysen VanDraska of Cedar Rapids Prairie and Thomas Pollard of Gilbert staged a fierce battle in the 1,600-meter run at the Iowa State Classic in Ames Tuesday.

Gilbert, a multiple state champion, nipped VanDraska by 18-hundredths of a second. Pollard was clocked in 4:25.42 and VanDraska was timed in 4:25.60.

Trevor Northrup of Prairie finished third in the 60 in 7.20 seconds. Nick Stark of Xavier placed fifth in the 60 in 7.29 seconds in a strong field.

Ryan Murphy of Linn-Mar placed sixth in the 3,200 in 9:52.10.


Prairie - Boys Track

Northrup, Laue win races for Prairie

MOUNT VERNON - Trevor Northrup and Max Laue of Cedar Rapids Prairie won titles at the Demon Invitational boys track meet at Cornell College Friday.

Northrup captured the 60 meter dash in 7.18 seconds and Laue claimed the 800 meter run in 2:18.84.

Keagan Pinter placed second for the Hawks in the 60 hurdles in 8.34 seconds. Hunter Gearhart was third in the 800 in 2:20.56. Prairie also finished second in the 4x800 relay (8:37.47) and third in the sprint medley (3:53.31).

The Linn-Mar Lions finished second in the sprint medley in 3:47.32.

Last Updated on Friday, 06 March 2015 22:58

Prairie - Boys Track

Coaches pick All-Metro boys track

Here is the 2014 All-Metro boys track team, as selected by the Metro coaches.



Dallas Jacobus (Kennedy)

Michael Lamparek (Prairie)



Drew Heitland (Kennedy)

Michael Lamparek (Prairie)



Curtis McCrary (Linn-Mar)

Derek Jacobus (Kennedy)

Famiek Cook (Kennedy)

Nick Stark (Xavier)



Willie Rhoads (Kennedy)

Shaun Beyer (Kennedy)



Josh Evans (Linn-Mar)

Mitch Pritts (Prairie)

Daniel Murphy (Linn-Mar)



Quinn Cannoy (Marion)

Shaun Beyer (Kennedy)

Joah Wallace (Prairie)



Nick Stark (Xavier)

Nate Karlan (Jefferson)

Trevor Northrup (Prairie)


4x800 RELAY

Prairie (Mitch Pritts, Matt Lorenz, Ross Adams, Tysen VanDraska)

Linn-Mar (Tanner Rathje, Daniel Murphy, Greyson Dolezal, Bryan Fogerty)



Nate Karlan (Jefferson)

Landen Akers (Washington)



Josh Evans (Linn-Mar)

Mitch Pritts (Prairie)


4x200 RELAY

Kennedy (Jacob Shannon, Derek Jacobus, Marcus Perkins, Famiek Cook)

Linn-Mar (Austin Flieder, Tristan Freese, Tim Wolfe, Daniel Gorsich)

Jefferson (Jacob Beaton, Nate Karlan, Dan Larson, Dylan Chittick)



Landon Akers (Washington)

Jalen Rima (Prairie)



Marcus Perkins (Kennedy)

Keagan Pinter (Prairie)



Linn-Mar (Austin Flieder, Tim Wolfe, Duggan Trenary, Josh Evans)

Prairie (Trevor Northrup, Joah Wallace, Jalen Rima, Tysen VanDraska)



Josh Evans (Linn-Mar)

Tysen VanDraska (Prairie)


4x100 RELAY

Kennedy (Jacob Shannon, Marcus Perkins, Famiek Cook, Derek Jacobus)

Linn-Mar (Austin Flieder, Tristan Freese, Tim Wolfe, Daniel Gorsich)

Jefferson (Alphonso Soko, Jacob Beaton, Dylan Chittick, Nate Karlan)


4x400 RELAY

Jefferson (Dan Larson, Dylan Chittick, Tayvian May, Alphonso Soko)

Linn-Mar (Dalton Gosch, Duggan Trenary, Joe A'Hearn, Bryce Miller)



Kennedy (Famiek Cook, Derek Jacobus, Marcus Perkins, Shaun Beyer)

Linn-Mar (Zeal Baker, Daniel Gorsich, Tristan Freese, Nick House)





Shuttle hurdle relay (Savaun Bounds, Mason Furnish, Dakota Tomkins,

Michael Moncivais)

Jared Eivins (shot put)



4x400 relay (Mark Schulz, Nick Duehr, Mitch Gaffey, Zach Tinkey)

Jackson Coker (discus)



Isaiah Vlasek (3200)

Matt Hilligas (shot put)



4x100 relay (Reid Snitker, Landen Akers, Mason Taylor, Alex Herzog)

Carlos Nelson (long jump)



4x100 relay (Chris Ball, Nick Stark, Sean Murphy, Miles Sullivan)

Jacob Schmitt (3200)



Kyle Hayek (shot put)

Tanner Rathje (800)



Trevor Hardman (400)

Colton Forster (3200)


COACHES OF THE YEAR: Ken Hopkins (Linn-Mar), Brian White (Kennedy)

Last Updated on Saturday, 07 June 2014 17:26
  • «
  •  Start 
  •  Prev 
  •  1 
  •  2 
  •  3 
  •  4 
  •  5 
  •  6 
  •  7 
  •  8 
  •  9 
  •  10 
  •  Next 
  •  End 
  • »

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!