Monday, July 28, 2014
SUNDAY'S SCOREBOARD - MWL - Kernels 4, Dayton 1 ....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Prairie High School - Cedar Rapids, Iowa

Cougars, J-Hawks lead Metro baseball

This is not shaping up as a particularly good year for high school baseball in the Metro area.

Only Kennedy and Jefferson have winning records in conference games. And only Kennedy, Jefferson and Xavier have winning records overall.

The Xavier Saints suffered a big loss this month when Mitch Keller accepted a $1 million signing bonus from Pittsburgh and left to begin his pro career.

The Linn-Mar Lions also have suffered a big loss with all-state catcher Brandt Ollinger playing travel ball this summer with an all-star team. Linn-Mar Coach Chad Lechner said Ollinger will be gone for an extended period of time.

Kennedy is ranked No. 2 in Class 4A and Jefferson defeated No. 1 Hempstead in the second game of a doubleheader Friday.

Here are the Metro records through June 22:

Kennedy         14-2 overall   10-2 MVC
Jefferson       13-6 overall   8-4 MVC
Xavier          12-8 overall   6-6 MVC
Marion          8-8 overall    6-6 Wamac
Linn-Mar        9-14 overall   4-8 MVC
Prairie         4-12 overall   3-7 MVC
Washington      3-12 overall   3-9 MVC
Cedar Valley    0-14 overall

Last Updated on Sunday, 22 June 2014 18:08

Knox belts homer as Jeff tops Hawks

Colton Knox hit a home run and drove in three runs as the Jefferson J-Hawks clipped Prairie, 7-3, in a Mississippi Valley Conference game Wednesday night at Prairie.

The game was suspended June 3 due to weather and finished Wednesday.

Cam Frazier went 2-for-5 and scored two runs for Jefferson. Lucas Larson also had two hits for the J-Hawks.

Cal Clark scored twice for Prairie.

Jefferson   000 114 1 - 7 9 1
Prairie     001 110 0 - 3 5 2

W - Jared Eivins. L - JP Havel-Pisarik.


Garcia tops all-MVC soccer team

Olivia Garcia of Linn-Mar has been named the Athlete of the Year on the Mississippi Valley Conference all-star soccer team in the Valley Division, as selected by MVC coaches.

Jensen Sevening, Claire Larson and Rylie Frese joined Garcia as first-team selections in the Valley Division from Linn-Mar.

Meleah Baloch, Andrew Reutzel and Hannah Kousheh of Prairie were first-team picks in the Valley Division. Elizabeth Bailey and Marisa Berutti of Xavier made the Valley first team, along with Hannah Schroeder and Annee Cooper of Washington.

Steve Dickinson and his assistants were named the Staff of the Year in the Valley Division.

Sydney Hayden, Kaela Dickerman and Jordan Holmes of Kennedy were first-team selections in the Mississippi Division.

Last Updated on Thursday, 19 June 2014 10:03



Carter stars as Prairie sweeps Tigers

CEDAR FALLS - Gabi Carter belted two home runs and drove in seven runs Tuesday as Prairie ripped Cedar Falls, 11-0, in the first game of a Mississippi Valley Conference doubleheader in Cedar Falls.

Prairie won the second game, 6-2.

Amanda Stecklein went 3-for-4 and hit a home run for the Hawks in the first game. Carter also was 3-for-4. Kristen Wahlert was 2-for-4.

Last Updated on Wednesday, 18 June 2014 09:59



Metro softball enjoying strong year

High school softball in the Metro area is enjoying a strong year this season  and there's a mad scramble to see who has the best record.

The Linn-Mar Lions have the most wins with a 15-3 overall record, but Xavier, Jefferson and Prairie all all right behind with 14 victories.

Washington and Kennedy have rebounded this season and have 11 wins apiece.

Here are the Metro records through Sunday:

Linn-Mar          15-3 overall, 11-2 MVC
Xavier              14-2 overall, 11-1 MVC
Jefferson          14-4 overall, 9-3 MVC
Prairie              14-7 overall, 9-3 MVC
Washington       11-4 overall, 8-4 MVC
Kennedy           11-6 overall, 7-4 MVC
Marion              5-9 overall, 3-5 Wamac


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!