Friday, February 28, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
Please update your Flash Player to view content.
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Metro Sports Report

Stokes is Miss Iowa Basketball

The awards from a great high school basketball career continue to be reaped by Linn-Mar's Kiah Stokes.  The latest is the ultimate honor a senior girls basketball player in Iowa can receive.

Stokes has been named Miss Iowa Basketball by the Iowa Newspaper Association, the INA announced Tuesday. She was voted the honor by a panel of sportswriters from newspapers across the state.

Stokes is the first player from Linn-Mar and the fifth from a Metro high school to win the award, which has been presented annually since 1981.  She is only the second Metro athlete to win the award since the entire state switched to playing five-player basketball in 1994. Kennedy's Anne O'Neil won in 2000. The other three Metro winners all came from Jefferson -- Karen Schulte in 1993, Kate Galligan in 1992 and Lisa Becker in 1982.

Stokes led the state in scoring with a 25.0 average and was second in rebounding, averaging 14.9. She also was second in blocked shots with 141. She holds the state record for career blocked shots with 515 and finished No. 4 on the career rebound list with 1,239. She also scored 1,704 points.


Metro stars shooting on state tourney stage

High school basketball fans in the Metro area have been treated to something very special in local gyms this season, something they may never see again.

Jarrod Uthoff, Josh Oglesby, Marcus Paige, Wes Washpun, Matt Bohannon. Remember those names.

All five of them will play Division I college basketball at a high level. There could be a Mr. Basketball (or two) in the group, and there might be a couple of NBA players.

It's been a special season, and the best part of the campaign begins this week with the Class 4A boys state tournament at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Uthoff has Cedar Rapids Jefferson in the field. Oglesby and Washpun have led Cedar Rapids Washington back to Des Moines. Paige and Bohannon have top-ranked Linn-Mar looking for another state title.

All five of those players and their schools played in the state tournament last year. None of them came home with the grand prize, but Linn-Mar is the No.1 seed and the favorite this time around.

It starts Wednesday.

Linn-Mar (23-0) faces Washington (17-8) in an all-Metro opener at 1:45 p.m. at Wells Fargo Arena. Jefferson (17-5) plays Des Moines Hoover (21-2) in the nightcap at 8:15 p.m.

The semifinals are Friday, with the finals and consolation game for third place on Saturday.


Prairie's Stocker 2nd in 800 at Wartburg

WAVERLY -- Prairie's Kyle Stocker was second in the 800 meters and Jefferson's Timauntay Jones was fourth at Tuesday's Wartburg Invitational indoor high school track meet.

Prairie and Jefferson were the only Metro teams competing on the boys side of the co-ed meet. Jefferson's girls also competed. There were no team scores kept.

Stocker, a key part of Prairie's state champion cross country team last fall, ran the 800 in 2:02.66. He was .4 seconds behind winner Conner Smock of Lisbon.  Jones ran a 2:05.45.

Prairie's Jordan Burns, another cross country runner, was fifth in the 3,200 meters with a time of 10:04.06.  Prairie's 1,600 sprint medley of Austin Dellamuth, Josh Rundall, Robbie Kohl and Justin Burns finished sixth in 3:52.19.

The Jefferson girls had several top five finishes. J-Hawk soph Taylor Jacobson ran the second fastest time in qualifying for the 55-meter hurdles, but slipped to fifth in the finals, just behind teammate Summer Carber. 

Jacobson, Carber, Rachel Sedlacek and Ashley Madsen ran on the J-Hawks' fifth-place 4x400 relay. Emma Edelen was fourth in the shot put.

Wartburg Invitational

(Winners and Top 10 Metro finishers)


55 meters -- 1. Cassie Crotty (Cedar Falls), 7.49; 8. Madison Ranschau (CR Jeff), 7.96; 200 -- 1. Marisa Evers (Hudson), 26.88; 7. Summer Carber (CR Jeff), 28.33; 400 -- Hillary Garvey (Hudson), 1:02.46; 800 -- Brianna King (Cedar Falls), 2:22.40; 1,500 -- 1. Karissa Schweizer (WDM Dowling), 4:56.89; 3,000 -- 1. Bailey Eppard (Johnston), 11:09.07; 55 hurdles -- 1. Kaitlyn Gillett (Cedar Falls), 9.26; 4. Carber (CR Jeff), 9.47; 5. Taylor Jacobson (CR Jeff), 9.58; 4x200 relay -- 1. Hudson, 1:49.31; 9. CR Jefferson (Lauren Hovey, Jamie Robertson, Courtney Cahalan, Ranschau), 2:02.12; 4x400 relay -- 1. Cedar Falls, 4:14.02; 5. CR Jefferson (Jacobson, Ashley Madsen, Rachel Sedlacek, Carber), 4:27.59; 4x800 relay -- 1. Cedar Falls, 10:10.79; 10. CR Jefferson (Sedlacek, Kylie Steimer, Molly Miller, Anna Bruns), 11:08.23; Sprint medley relay -- 1. Cedar Falls, 4:26.08; High jump -- 1. Alex Hawks (Johnston), 5-2; Long jump -- 1. Erika Massner (Wapello), 16-2.25; Shot put -- 1. Jadyn Spencer (Waterloo West), 40-8; 4. Emma Edelen (CR Jeff), 33-2.25.


Indians brace for No. 1 Waverly-SR

Marion thought it would have a good basketball team this season with Kasey Semler and Dusty Albaugh, but the Indians finished January with a wobbly 9-7 record and their hopes appeared to fade.

They haven't lost since.

The Indians (17-7) will be riding an eight-game winning streak when they face No.1 Waverly-Shell Rock (24-0) in the first round of the Class 3A state tournament Tuesday at Wells Fargo Arena in Des Moines.

Tipoff is scheduled for 3:30 p.m.

Marion posted a 4-5 record in January, hardly the mark of champions, but Coach Mike Manderscheid told his guys to wipe January from their minds and get ready for February.

"It was a new month," he said. "We knew going into the season, when you play seven of nine games on the road in January, it's tough. Even if you're in the Wamac (Conference), it's still tough to go in there and beat teams on the road.

"We got out of January and we said, 'Hey, it's a new month, a new beginning, let's just start over and work hard and see what we can do and make a little bit of a run here.' "

Waverly-Shell Rock began its "run" in November and never stopped. Waverly-Shell Rock has won 24 straight games by an average margin of 23.6 points, and the Class 3A club has pocketed wins over such Class 4A teams as Cedar Falls, Waterloo West, Waterloo East and Xavier along the way.

Marion is seeded No.8 for the eight-team tournament and Waverly-Shell Rock is seeded No.1. The Indians know they are big underdogs, but that hasn't dimmed their enthusiasm for making their second trip to the state tournament in three years.


Coaches pick Stokes, Dawson 1st team all state

Kiah Stokes from Linn-Mar and Tia Dawson from Washington have been named to the Class 4A first team all-state girls basketball team announced Monday by the Iowa Girls Coaches Association (IGCA).

Stokes and Dawson led their respective teams to the state tournament. Stokes' team lost in the semifinals, Dawson's in the first round.

Stokes led the state in scoring with a 25.0 average, and was second in rebounding (14.9) and blocked shots (141). She set the career state record for blocked shots with 515. Stokes is a top candidate for the Miss Basketball Award that will be announced Tuesday.  She also has signed to play college basketball at two-time defending NCAA champion Connecticut.

Dawson saved her best game for last. She scored 27 points and grabbed 14 rebounds in the Warriors' 67-58 first round tournament loss to Iowa City West. She averaged 12 points, 10 rebounds and blocked 91 shots. Dawson is bound for Dartmouth.

State champion Des Moines East had two members of the first team -- Markisha Wright and Shronda Butts.  Virginia Johnson of Iowa City High and Ally Disterhoft of Iowa City West, Sioux City North's Brittni Donaldson and Southeast Polk's Caitlin Ingle also were named to the first team.

Des Moines East's Sam Powell was named coach of the Year. The Scarlets finished 26-0.


Page 1518 of 1558


Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!