Sunday, September 20, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Stokes heads MVC honor teams

The honors keep coming for Linn-Mar senior Kiah Stokes.

Stokes was named first team all-Mississippi Valley Conference and Mississippi Division Athlete of the Year the league announced Wednesday.  Earlier in the day she was named the Cedar Rapids-Marion Metro Player of the Year.

Stokes, a McDonald's All-American, was one of seven Metro athletes to earn MVC first team honors. The league selects all-conference teams by division. Joining Stokes on the Mississippi Division team are Washington senior Tia Dawson and Kennedy junior Courtney Strait.  First team selections in the Valley Division are Prairie freshman Madison Dellamuth, Jefferson sophomore Taylor Jacobson and Xavier seniors Alex Saxen and Krissi Tow.

Stokes, Dellamuth and Saxen were unanimous selections.

Five Metro athletes are on the second teams. Linn-Mar senior Jenna Eells, Washington senior Alissa Oney and Kennedy senior Olivia Meier are on the Mississippi Division second team. Jefferson sophomore Kaitlyn Davidson and Xavier junior Emily Walvoord are on the Valley Division second team.

Coaches of the Year are Dr. Tony Pappas from Waterloo West in the Mississippi Division and B.J. Mayer of Iowa City West in the Valley Division. The Valley Division Athlete of the Year is Iowa City West sophomore Ally Disterhoft.


Mississippi Division

First Team

Tia Dawson, CR Washington, sr.
*Virginia Johnson, Iowa City High, sr.
*Jordan Johnston, Waterloo West, sr.
*Jadyn Spencer, Waterloo West, sr.
*Kiah Stokes, Linn-Mar, sr.
Courtney Strait, Kennedy, jr.
Claire Till, Dubuque Wahlert, jr.

Second Team

Zinka Duric, Waterloo West, jr.
Jenna Eells, Linn-Mar, sr.
Mickey Hansche, Iowa City High, soph.
Tessa Leytem, Dubuque Wahlert, jr.
Olivia Meier, Kennedy, sr.
Alissa Oney, CR Washington, sr.
Kristie Sommer, Dubuque Senior, fr.

Honorable Mention

Kennedy -- Shauna Happel, Cassi Nunnikhoven
Washington -- Ashley Piper, Jazz Royster
Linn-Mar -- Mykaela Brandt, Kailee Karr

Athlete of the Year -- Kiah Stokes, Linn-Mar

Coach of the Year -- Dr. Tony Pappas, Waterloo West

Valley Division

First Team

*Madison Dellamuth, Prairie, fr.
*Ally Disterhoft, Iowa City West, soph.
Taylor Jacobson, Jefferson, soph.
Megan Kluesner, Hempstead, sr.
McKenzie Piper, Iowa City West, jr.
*Alex Saxen, Xavier, sr.
Krissi Tow, Xavier, sr.

Second Team

Kaz Brown, Cedar Falls, fr.
Kaitlyn Davidson, Jefferson, soph.
Brittani Graves, Hempstead, jr.
Jessica Shull, Iowa City West, jr.
Shelly Stumpff, Iowa City West, jr.
Emily Walvoord, Xavier, jr.
Allie Wirth, Cedar Falls, jr.

Honorable Mention

Jefferson -- Rachel Broghammer, Brittney Steffeny
Prairie -- Katie Carver, Alisa Weiland
Xavier -- Alex Bartz, Annie Dale

Athlete of the Year -- Ally Disterhoft, Iowa City West

Coach of the Year -- B.J. Mayer, Iowa City West


Last Updated ( Wednesday, 23 February 2011 19:50 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!