Saturday, September 19, 2020
Thank you for reading the Metro Sports Report....
* Contact Metro Sports Report *
Jim Ecker, President & Editor

Kiah and Tia lead all-Metro teams

The honor may not carry as much swagger as those she has or will collect, but Kiah Stokes added another tidbit to her resume Wednesday (Feb. 23) when she was named the Metro girls basketball Player of the Year.

Stokes already has been named to the McDonald's All-America team and will play in that all-star game at Chicago on March 30 and the WBCA Nike All-Star Game in Indianapolis on April 2.

She likely will be named Iowa's Miss Basketball next month and again be honored as the state's Gatorade girls basketball Athlete of the Year.  She has signed a letter of intent to play basketball at the University of Connecticut, the two-time defending national champions.

Stokes also holds the state record for career blocked shots. She leads the state in scoring with a 25.2 average and is second in rebounds per game average (15.1) and blocked shots per game average (5.81).  She has scored 1,634 points, grabbed 1,199 rebounds and blocked 502 shots in her four-year career at Linn-Mar and led the Lions to four straight state tournament appearances, including a Class 4A state title a year ago.

Stokes and the Lions have a shot at repeating as tournament champs next week.

Stokes was one of four unanimous selections on the All-Metro team. The others are senior Tia Dawson of Washington, who is headed to Dartmouth, Xavier senior Alex Saxen and Kennedy junior Courtney Strait.

Dawson has played in the shadow of Stokes for four years.  She hasn't been a scorer like Stokes, but has been one of the best rebounders and shot blockers.  She holds the Washington record for career blocked shots.

Saxen led the Saints with a 10.1 scoring average. She will play college basketball at Missouri Western.

Strait averaged 15.7 points for the Cougars and shot nearly 43 percent from 3-point range.

The other three members of the first team are Washington senior Alissa Oney, Linn-Mar senior Jenna Eells and Jefferson sophomore Taylor Jacobson.

There also are seven members on the second team, one from each school.

Washington's Frank Howell was named the Metro Coach of the Year.

(* -- unanimous selection)

First Team

*Kiah Stokes, sr., Linn-Mar
*Tia Dawson, sr., Washington
*Courtney Strait, jr., Kennedy
*Alex Saxen, sr., Xavier
Alissa Oney, sr., Washington
Jenna Eells, sr., Linn-Mar
Taylor Jacobson, soph., Jefferson

Second Team

Madison Dellamuth, fr., Prairie
Kailee Karr, sr., Linn-Mar
Olivia Meier, sr., Kennedy
Krissi Tow, sr., Xavier
Kristin Kramer, sr., Marion
Kaitlyn Davidson, soph., Jefferson
Ashley Piper, sr., Washington

Honorable Mention

Linn-Mar -- Rachel Thrune, Mykaela Brandt
Prairie -- Katie Carver, Alisa Weiland
Washington -- Jazz Royster, Janay Pritchett
Kennedy -- Shauna Happel, Kaylese Johnson
Jefferson -- Brittney Steffeny, Rachel Broghammer
Xavier -- Emily Walvoord, Annie Dale
Marion -- Leah Smith, Dani Peyton

Player of the Year -- Kiah Stokes, Linn-Mar

Coach of the Year -- Frank Howell, Washington

Last Updated ( Wednesday, 23 February 2011 19:55 )  

Social Media

Follow us on Facebook & Twitter!